IPL 2022 Stats

Overs Bowled in IPL 2022

1Yuzvendra Chahal Yuzvendra Chahal RR1768052727
2Ravichandran Ashwin Ravichandran Ashwin RR1767050312
3Prasidh Krishna Prasidh Krishna RR1766.3355119
4Rashid Khan Rashid Khan GT1663.5042119
5Trent Boult Trent Boult RR1662349216
6Mohammad Shami Mohammad Shami GT1661048820
7Wanindu Hasaranga Wanindu Hasaranga RCB1657143026
8Sunil Narine Sunil Narine KKR145603129
9Ravi Bishnoi Ravi Bishnoi LSG1454045613
10Harshal Patel Harshal Patel RCB1553.3241019

  • The Purple Cap in the IPL is handed out to the leading wicket-taker of the tournament. This cap keeps changing hands through the tournament as bowlers tussle with each other to finish with the highest number of scalps in the tournament. Last season witnessed RCB's Harshal Patel take home the Purple Cap, as he tied the legendary Dwayne Bravo's tally of 32 wickets, the most in a single IPL season. Harshal had a chance to make the record his own but a dropped catch put paid to those hopes. The Purple Cap has been won twice by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo. South African bowlers have had decent outings in IPL over the years with three of them, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir and Kagiso Rabada taking home the Purple Cap in different seasons. The likes of RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha and Mohit Sharma have also won the Purple Cap. Lasith Malinga was for long the most prolific bowler in the history of IPL with 170 wickets, until he was surpassed by Dwayne Bravo in IPL 2022. The IPL has over the years served as a platform for little known players and impressive youngsters to showcase their skills and the recent years have seen the likes of Harshal and Avesh Khan produce scintillating performances. Both men finished first and second respectively in the Purple Cap race last season and this enabled them to get multi-crore deals in the IPL 2022 mega auction. Veteran Indian pacer Umesh Yadav has lit up IPL 2022 in the initial stages and it will be interesting to see who takes home the coveted IPL Purple Cap this season.
more stats