2016 ICC World Twenty20
Runner up
Most Runs
Tamim Iqbal
295 runs
Most Wickets
Mohammad Nabi
12 wickets
Player of the series
Virat Kohli

The 2016 T20 World Cup which was played in India was the sixth edition of the tournament and it was played from March 8 to April 3 across seven cities -- Bangalore, Dharamshala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur, and New Delhi. This was the second time that sixteen teams participated out of which ten qualified automatically through their status as full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The remaining six sealed their qualification through the 2015 World Twenty20 Qualifier.

The tournament was played in three stages. In the first stage, the eight lowest-ranked teams played off, with the top two joining the eight highest-ranked teams in the Super 10 stage. Finally, the top four teams overall contested the knockout stage.

In the Super 10 stage, West Indies, England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan were placed in Group 1 while New Zealand, India, Australia, Pakistan and Bangladesh were placed in Group 2.

India failed to make the final after suffering a defeat in the semi-final against West Indies. In the other semi-final, England had brushed aside the challenge of New Zealand.

In the final which was played at Eden Gardens, the West Indies defeated England by four wickets in a thriller where Carlos Brathwaite smashed Ben Stokes for four consecutive sixes in the final over. Virat Kohli was named the player of the tournament, while Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal and Afghanistan's Mohammad Nabi led the tournament in runs and wickets, respectively.

World Cup 2016 Points Table
No. Team M W L T PTS NR
1 Bangladesh 3 2 0 0 5 1
2 Netherlands 3 1 1 0 3 1
3 Oman 3 1 1 0 3 1
4 Ireland 3 0 2 0 1 1
World Cup 2016 Matches