2021 ICC World Twenty20
Runner up
New Zealand
UAE and Oman
Most Runs
Babar Azam
303 runs
Most Wickets
Wanindu Hasaranga
Sri Lanka
16 wickets
Player of the series
David Warner

The seventh edition of the T20 World Cup was hosted by UAE and Oman between October 17 to November 14, 2021. The cities that hosted the tournament were Dubai, Sharjah, Abu Dhabi, and Muscat. Australia clinched the title after defeating New Zealand in the summit clash by 8 wickets, at Dubai International Stadium. It was the first time when Australia had won the T20 World Cup and also it was the first time for New Zealand to reach a T20 World Cup final. Initially, India was supposed to host the tournament, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was postponed and later shifted to UAE.

The tournament comprised of a total of 16 teams, with India being the original host country, followed by nine teams, qualified through their T20I rankings, and 6 six teams after battling it out in the World Cup qualifier stage. The teams that qualified through qualifiers were Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Ireland, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman.

The 2019 World Cup began with warm-up matches between two groups. Group A consisted of Sri Lanka, Namibia, Ireland, and Netherlands. Group B consisted of Scotland, Bangladesh, Oman, and Papua New Guinea. From both the groups, Sri Lanka and Namibia, and Scotland and Bangladesh qualified for the Super 12 stage.

The Group 1 of Super 12 stage featured England, Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Bangladesh. While Group 2 consisted of Pakistan, New Zealand, India, Afghanistan, Namibia, Scotland.

After battling it out in the Super 12 stage, England, Australia, Pakistan, and New Zealand advanced into the semi-finals. England thrashed New Zealand by 5 wickets and Australia also defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets.

In the finals, which was played at Dubai, Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets to lift their first-ever T20 World Cup title. Mitchell Marsh was declared as the Player of the Match while David Warner won the Player of the Tournament.

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam scored the most number of runs while Sri Lanka spinner Wanindu Hasaranga became the highest wicket taker.

World Cup 2021 Points Table
No. Team M W L T PTS NR
1 Sri Lanka 3 3 0 0 6 0
2 Namibia 3 2 1 0 4 0
3 Ireland 3 1 2 0 2 0
4 Netherlands 3 0 3 0 0 0
World Cup 2021 Matches