2012 ICC World Twenty20
Runner up
Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka
Most Runs
Shane Watson
249 runs
Most Wickets
Ajantha Mendis
Sri Lanka
15 wickets
Player of the series
Shane Watson

The fourth edition of the T20 World Cup was held in Sri Lanka in 2012. For the first time, the T20 World Cup was held in Asia and it was West Indies who won their maiden title after beating the hosts in the final. The tournament was held across three different venues -- Pallekele Cricket Stadium, R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and Mahindra Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota. Interestingly, all three venues have a capacity of 35,000 each.

Just like the previous edition, a total of 12 teams participated in the tournament, and were split into four Groups of three.

Ireland defeated Afghanistan in the Qualifiers final, which was a rematch of last edition's event.

India, England (Group A), Australia, West Indies (Group B), South Africa, Sri Lanka (Group C), and Pakistan, New Zealand (Group D) all qualified for the Super 8 stage of the competition.

The eight teams were divided into two Groups of four.

India, who were in Group 2, crashed out of the tournament after finishing third behind Australia and Pakistan.

Meanwhile, West Indies and Sri Lanka also advanced from Group 2.

In the semi-finals, Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan in the first match, while West Indies got the better of Australia in the second.

In the final, West Indies (137/6) defeated Sri Lanka (101) by 36 runs.

Australia's Shane Watson was the top-scorer with 249 runs, while Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis was the leading wicket-taker with 15 scalps.

Watson was named player of the tournament, having bagged 12 wickets as well.

World Cup 2012 Matches