2010 ICC World Twenty20
Runner up
West Indies
Most Runs
Mahela Jayawardene
Sri Lanka
302 runs
Most Wickets
Dirk Nannes
14 wickets
Player of the series
Kevin Pietersen

The 2010 T20 World Cup was the third edition of the tournament and the West Indies were the hosts of the showpiece event. India had won the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007 in South Africa, while Pakistan triumphed in England in 2009. In 2010, the tournament was held across three venues -- Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados; Providence Stadium in Providence, Guyana; and Beausejour Stadium in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia -- in the Caribbean. England lifted their maiden title after beating Australia in the final by seven wickets.

Notably, it was Afghanistan's first major tournament. They reached the tournament after beating Ireland in the Qualifiers final, with both sides qualifying for the event.

A total of 12 teams participated at the event, and were split into four groups of three.

Top two teams from each group qualified for the Super 8s, and they were divided into two Groups of four.

Australia and Pakistan qualified from Group A, while Sri Lanka and New Zealand booked their place from Group B.

In Group C, India and South Africa booked their passage to the next round, while hosts West Indies and eventual winners England advanced from Group D.

India's journey came to an end in the Super 8s after defeats to Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Sri Lanka played England in the first semi-final, while Pakistan and Australia squared off in the other.

The Paul Collingwood-led England defeated Australia comprehensively to lift the title, with great performances from Kevin Pietersen and Craig Kieswetter.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene finished as the top-scorer with 302 runs while Australia's Dirk Nannes was the leading wicket-taker with 14 wickets.

World Cup 2010 Matches