2007 ICC World Twenty20
Runner up
South Africa
Most Runs
Matthew Hayden
265 runs
Most Wickets
Umar Gul
13 wickets
Player of the series
Shahid Afridi

It was in 2007 when the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup took place. South Africa hosted the T20 extravaganza that saw India emerge as the winners after handing a narrow 5-run defeat to arch-rivals Pakistan in the thrilling final match that took place at the Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

The tournament kicked off with 12 teams being divided into four groups. India were put with Pakistan and Scotland in Group D. India played their second match of the tournament against Pakistan in which they defeated their arch-rivals in a bowl-out after the scores were level post 40 overs in the game.

Top two teams from each group advanced to the Super 8. India topped Group D, while Pakistan stood second.

In the Super 8, there were two groups and India were clubbed with New Zealand, South Africa and England. They lost to New Zealand but defeated England and South Africa to advance to the semi-finals.

India then went on to beat Australia in the semi-final stage, while Pakistan defeated New Zealand in the other last 4 encounter.Apart from the India-Pakistan encounters and some other neck-and-neck matches, the tournament is also remembered for Yuvraj Singh's six sixes in an over against Stuart Broad of England in a must-win Super 8 game.

Matthew Hayden of Australia was the top run-scorer (265 runs across 6 matches) in the tournament, while Pakistan's Umar Gul was the highest wicket-taker (13 wickets from 7 matches).

World Cup 2007 Matches