2009 ICC World Twenty20
Runner up
Sri Lanka
Most Runs
Tillakaratne Dilshan
Sri Lanka
317 runs
Most Wickets
Umar Gul
13 wickets
Player of the series
Tillakaratne Dilshan
Sri Lanka

After a successful campaign in the inaugural edition, the T20 World Cup returned in 2009 with 12 teams fighting for the coveted trophy. The tournament kicked off on June 5 with the final being played on June 21 in which Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets to clinch their maiden title.

The format of this tournament was the same as in the inaugural edition - Group stage followed by Super 8s and then the semi-finals. The second edition of T20 World Cup was hosted by England.

India were pitted against Ireland and Bangladesh in Group A. The defending champions won both their matches and thus advanced to the Super 8s comfortably. Ireland too entered the next stage as it stood second in the group.

In the Super 8s, India were pitted against the likes of South Africa, West Indies and England, and to everyone's surprise the side failed to win even a single game to eventually get knocked out of the tournament, ending at the bottom spot in the table.

Then came the semi-finals where Pakistan defeated South Africa and Sri Lanka defeated West Indies.

In the final, Shahid Afridi shone with his unbeaten fifty and sealed the game for Pakistan with 8 balls remaining.

Tillakaratne Dilshan was the top run-scorer (317 runs across 7 matches) in the tournament. He was also declared the Player of the Series.

Meanwhile, Pakistan's Umar Gul was the highest wicket-taker (13 wickets from 7 matches) for the second consecutive time in a T20 World Cup.

World Cup 2009 Matches