2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
Runner up
New Zealand
Australia and New Zealand
Most Runs
Martin Guptill
547 runs
Most Wickets
Mitchell Starc
22 wickets
Trent Boult
New Zealand
22 wickets
Player of the series
Mitchell Starc

Australia defeated trans-Tasman neighbours New Zealand by seven wickets in the final on May 29, 2015 to clinch their fifth World Cup title. In doing so, they became the second team after India to win cricket's greatest event on home soil.

In a one-sided final, the hosts captained by Michael Clarke were too good against Brendon McCullum's New Zealand. The visitors were bowled out for 183 runs at the iconic MCG.

James Faulkner for his economical spell of 3/36 from nine overs was adjudged player of the match.

Australia chased down the total in 33.1 overs where Clarke made 74 while Steve Smith hit the winning runs remaining unbeaten at 56.

Earlier, Australia defeated MS Dhoni-led India in the semi-final whereas New Zealand won a thriller against AB de Villiers' South Africa.

Prior to the tournament began, these four teams were the touted semi-finalists.

India topped Pool B by winning all six matches and then defeated Bangladesh in the quarter-final before losing to eventual champions Australia in the semi-final.

Faf du Plessis (82) and De Villiers' (65 not out) efforts propelled South Africa to 281/5 in a rain-curtailed match in the 1st semi-final.

Hosts New Zealand, who have never won a World Cup semi-final match earlier, needed 298 runs from 43 overs to win.

Brendon McCullum's blitzkrieg (59 off 26) and Grant Elliot's 84 not out took New Zealand to victory with a ball to spare.

World Cup 2015 Points Table
No. Team M W L T PTS NR
1 New Zealand 6 6 0 0 12 0
2 Australia 6 4 1 0 9 1
3 Sri Lanka 6 4 2 0 8 0
4 Bangladesh 6 3 2 0 7 1
5 England 6 2 4 0 4 0
6 Afghanistan 6 1 5 0 2 0
7 Scotland 6 0 6 0 0 0
World Cup 2015 Matches