Mumbai Indians

Trophy Cabinet
  • 5
    Indian Premier League
    2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020

MI Stats

About Mumbai Indians

Mumbai, the land of a myriad dreams is a melting pot and the Mumbai Indians unit does its best to showcase the same. One of the costliest teams in the IPL, they are owned by Mukesh Ambani's Reliance Industries Limited. Sachin Tendulkar has to be the most iconic figure to play for them. In the initial years, the team possessed solid hitters like Aiden Blizzard, Ambati Rayudu and Rohit Sharma combined with a host of exciting all-rounders like Kieron Pollard, James Franklin, etc and arguably the world's best T20 bowler in Lasith Malinga.

Mumbai's best show came in the third season, wherein they ended up as finalists, losing to the eventual winners, Chennai Super Kings. They were also a part of the Champions League T20 that year, but could not sustain for long. In 2011 too, Mumbai Indians qualified to play in the CLT20 as a result of finishing third in the Indian T20 League. Despite the absence of senior players like Tendulkar, Mumbai went into the competition as underdogs with Harbhajan Singh leading from the front and emerged as winners of the 2011 Champions League T20, beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals.

Mumbai Indians gained a lot out of the 2012 auctions, as they bought some valuable foreign players in the form of Herschelle Gibbs, Mitchell Johnson, Richard Levi, Thisara Perera, etc. Andrew Symonds announced his retirement from all forms of cricket and was hence missing. While Johnson was ruled out even before playing a single game, others contributed fairly. However, that wasn't enough as a struggling Mumbai side was thrown out by the Chennai Super Kings in the Eliminator, thus ending their average campaign.

A year later though, the wait for their first trophy ended as they beat Chennai in the finals. Mumbai then went on to win two more in the next 4 years and under Rohit Sharma became a very strong unit. However, 2018 was not a year to remember as they failed to qualify for the knockout stage, they emerged stronger in the following year to win their fourth title, a feat never achieved before.

After gaining a reputation of winning the title only in the odd years, Mumbai successfully managed to buck the trend in 2020. They topped the table and secured their 5th title by beating Delhi in the final. The following season though turned out to be an inconsistent one for them where they finished fifth and failed to reach the playoffs.