Lucknow Super Giants

Trophy Cabinet

    LSG Stats

    About Lucknow Super Giants

    Lucknow are one of the newest entrants in the Indian T20 League are making its debut in the 2022 edition. Founded in 2021, the team will play its home matches at the BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. The team is owned by RPSG Group who previously owned one of the franchises from Pune between 2016 and 2017.

    The team will be captained by KL Rahul and coached by Andy Flower. The Governing Council of the Indian Premier League issued an invitation to tender for two new sides in August 2021. A total of 22 companies declared an interest but with a high base price for the new teams, there were no more than six serious bidders. The Board of Cricket Control in India allowed a consortium of three companies or individuals to bid for each franchise. The Sanjiv Goenka-owned RPSG Group won the rights to operate the Lucknow franchise with a bid of over Rs 7,090 crore.

    The team launched a competition to decide its name, from which the name Lucknow Super Giants was chosen in January 2022. Ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction, the franchise drafted KL Rahul as their
    captain, making him the joint highest-paid player in the League. The franchise also purchased some seasoned stars like Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Jason Holder, Manish Pandey and Deepak
    Hooda. They also signed some new rising stars of Indian cricket in Ravi Bishnoi and Avesh Khan.

    Lucknow have Andy Flower, the former Zimbabwean captain and experienced international coach as their head coach and another noteworthy appointment was of the former Indian cricketer and the two-time winning captain of the Indian T20 League trophy, Gautam Gambhir, as the team's mentor.