The host broadcaster for the India-West Indies Test series, IMG Media apologised for showing the wrong replay to third umpire Gregory Brathwaite when it came to Mahendra Singh Dhoni's dismissal on Day One of the second Test in Barbados.
The Indian skipper was caught at mid-on off the bowling of Fidel Edwards in the 59th over. On-field umpire Ian Gould suspected that the delivery may have been a no-ball so he sought confirmation from the third umpire.
Upon review, the delivery Brathwaite was shown by the broadcaster was legitimate and so Dhoni was given out. It was subsequently established that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery should indeed have been called a no-ball.
A spokesman in an email reply to MiD DAY said: "IMG Media takes its responsibilities on this matter very seriously. This was a case of human error, compounded by a senior replay operative having to return home at very short notice."
The International Cricket Council's (ICC) press release quoted Chris Broad, Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, as saying: "Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision. We are forced now put it behind us, and move on with the remainder of the match.
"The host broadcaster for this series acknowledged the mistake and has apologised.Â Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment. It is worth pointing out that the umpires followed the correct procedures and are without blame in this matter."