How Team India Were 'Grilled' by Cricket's Law in Kanpur Test vs New Zealand
Tom Latham survived a chance after a catch taken by Lokesh Rahul at short leg was ruled not out since the ball hit the helmet grill. Day 2 of the Kanpur Test between India and New Zealand belonged to the Kiwis
The Indians were also 'grilled' by the law when a Lokesh Rahul catch off Tom Latham fell on the wrong side of cricket's laws.
Replying to India's first innings score of 318, skipper Kane Williamson and opener Latham led New Zealand's robust reply with a 117-run stand to take the visitors to 152 for one at tea before rain prevented further play.
Latham and Williamson looked quite at ease against the Indian spinners who did manage a few leg-before appeals but could not separate them.
The batsmen brought up their individual fifties in successive overs, but not before Latham had survived a scare.
In the 37th over of the Kiwi innings, the southpaw went for a sweep shot against Ravindra Jadeja and the deflection hit his boot and popped up for Lokesh Rahul to take the catch at short leg.
The decision was referred to the third umpire who ruled in the batsman's favour after replays suggested the ball had touched the chin strap of Rahul's helmet.
According to regulations, parts of protective gears must not come into play while taking a catch.
So, Latham survived a close call. He was on 47 at the time and New Zealand were 126 for one.