CLT20 2013: As it happened - Trinidad & Tobago beat Brisbane Heat

Updated: 22 September 2013 20:18 IST

Man of the Match Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul guide Trinidad & Tobago to a 25-run win over Brisbane Heat in a Group B match at Ranchi.

Trinidad & Tobago extend their winning streak to 10 in the Champions League Twenty20 with a 25-run victory over Brisbane Heat. Catch all the highlights here: (Scorecard | Commentary)

19:15 (IST): Trinidad & Tobago have won the match by 25 runs. Pacer Ravi Rampaul bags four wickets, while Sunil Narine and Rayad Emrit took two wickets each. For Brisbane Heat, Joe Burns top scored with 45 but lacked support. Earlier, Alister McDermott picked up four wicket to restrict the West Indian side to 135/9. Skipper Denesh Ramdin scored 48.

19:04 (IST): WICKET! Sabburg c Darren Bravo b Emrit. Sabburg looks to go for a big one but hits straight to long off. Brisbane Heat 101/7 (17.3 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:56 (IST): WICKET! Joe Burns (45) gone. Ravi Rampaul is brough back to the attack and gets the big man. He also breaks the leg stump in the process. Brisbane Heat 91/6 (16 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:52 (IST): WICKET! Sunil Narine strikes again. Chris Hartley is the man to depart. He looks to play a cut shot but ends up dragging onto stumps. Brisbane Heat 85/5 (14.5 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:49 (IST): WICKET! Sunil Narine strikes. Chris Lynn fails to read the carrom ball and gets a faint outside edge to keeper Denesh Ramdin. Brisbane Heat 81/4 (14.1 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:46 (IST): WICKET! Rayad Emrit gets a crucial breakthrough. He traps Daniel Christian for 13. Emrit bowls a fuller delivery, Christian looks to flick it but misses it completely. Brisbane Heat 75/2 (13 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:42 (IST): Brisbane Heat are well in control despite losing two wickets. Sunil Narine bowling an expensive spell, has been hit for 16 runs in his two overs. Brisbane Heat 75/2 (13 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:25 (IST): Play has resumed at Ranchi. Brisbane Heat 31/2 (8 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:13 (IST): Power failure in one of the floodlights has stopped play at Ranchi. Umpires and players walk out of the field. Brisbane Heat 31/2 (7.5 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

18:10 (IST): WICKET! Peter Forrest out! Samuel Badree keeps it short and Forrest goes on backfoot to pull it straight to deep mid wicket. Brisbane Heat 31/2 (7.5 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

17:52 (IST): WICKET! Ravi Rampaul strikes to remove skipper James Hopes. Hopes makes room to play but defends it. Ball rolls over to hit stumps. Brisbane Heat 10/1 (2.3 overs) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

17:44 (IST): James Hopes and Joe Burns are the two Brisbane Heat openers. Ravi Rampaul opens the bowling attack. Brisbane Heat 3/0 (1 over) vs Trinidad & Tobago (135/9).

17:30 (IST): That's it! Trinidad and Tobago score 135/9 in 20 overs. Samuel Badree hits Alister McDermott for two sixes in the final over. Skipper Denesh Ramdin top scored for the West Indian side with 48. McDermott finished with 4/37, while Nathan Hauritz got two wickets. Daniel Christian, Ben Cutting, Kemar Roach picked up one wicket each. (In pic: Brisbane Heat fast bowler Alister McDermott)

17:22 (IST): WICKET! Skipper Denesh Ramdin (48) departs. He looked to hit Ben Cutting for a big one but gets a thick outside edge to swweper cover. Trinidad & Tobago 116/9 (18.2 overs) vs Brisbane.

17:16 (IST): WICKET! Alister McDermott bowling a fiery spell and has bagged 4 wickets so far. He removes Sunil Narine and Rayad Emrit in his third over. Trinidad & Tobago 115/8 (17.5 overs) vs Brisbane.

17:00 (IST): WICKET! Nicolas Pooran, the youngest man to play in Champions League Twenty20, departs. Pooran looks to run it down to third man but gets a faint edge to keeper Chris Hartley off Daniel Christian. Trinidad & Tobago 83/6 (14 overs) vs Brisbane.

16:45 (IST): WICKET! Nathan Hauritz gets two wickets on consecutive deliveries. First he removed Jason Mohammed and then got rid of Sherwin Ganga on the next. Trinidad & Tobago 71/5 (10.2 overs) vs Brisbane.

16:22 (IST): WICKET! Evin Lewis gone. This time Alister McDermott surprises him with a bouncer and Lewis mistimes pull to Ben Cutting at Backward square leg. Trinidad & Tobago 38/3 (4.4 overs) vs Brisbane.

16:19 (IST): WICKET! Kemar Roach strikes to remove Darren Bravo. Trinidad & Tobago 37/2 (4 overs) vs Brisbane.

16:14 (IST): WICKET! Lendl Simmons (14) b Alister McDermott. Trinidad & Tobago 28/1 (3 overs) vs Brisbane.

15:55 (IST): Teams-

Trinidad and Tobago: Lendl Simmons, Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo, Jason Mohammed, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper, captain), Nicolas Pooran, Sherwin Ganga, Sunil Narine, Rayad Emrit, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree

Brisbane Heat: James Hopes (captain), Joe Burns, Peter Forrest, Daniel Christian, Chris Lynn, Chris Hartley(w), Ben Cutting, Chris Sabburg, Nathan Hauritz, Kemar Roach, Alister McDermott

15:30 (IST): TOSS! Brisbane Heat captain James Hopes opt to bowl after winning the toss against Trinindad and Tobago.

14:30 (IST): STAT -

Trinidad and Tobago have won the most number of games in the tournament -- nine games. CSK stand next with eight wins. (For more stats, click here)

Brisbane Heat take on Trinidad & Tobago in their Champions League Twenty20 2013 opener at JSCA International Stadium today in what the good people at Ranchi will view as an opening act, the appetiser, ahead of Mahendra Singh Dhoni's 'home' game later in the day. (In pic: Brisbane Heat captain James Hopes)

While Ranchi is bustling with excitement at the upcoming week of action, rain has been a constant in the build-up to matchday. It poured for a bit on Saturday afternoon, forcing T&T to cancel their practice match. However, the pace bowlers on both sides will be licking their lips at what could be surprisingly helpful conditions in spin-friendly India if the clouds stay around.

Both Brisbane and T&T will field significantly weaker teams after losing star players to the Indian Premier League franchises. Injuries and other factors haven't helped either. However, devoid of the stars who attract the limelight, both teams will hope to fly under the radar and spring a surprise or two.


Brisbane Heat: James Hopes (captain), Joe Burns, Daniel Christian, Ben Cutting, Peter Forrest, Matthew Gale, Cameron Gannon, Chris Hartley (wicketkeeper), Nathan Hauritz, Chris Lynn, Alister McDermott, Dom Michael, Kemar Roach, Chris Sabburg, Brad Hipson.

Trinidad & Tobago: Denesh Ramdin (captain, wicketkeeper), Samuel Badree, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Rayad Emrit, Shannon Gabriel, Sherwin Ganga, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad, Sunil Narine, Yannick Ottley, Nicholas Pooran, Ravi Rampaul, Lendl Simmons, Navin Stewart.

Topics : Cricket Champions League Twenty20 2013 Champions League Twenty20, 2011 Suresh Raina MS Dhoni Davy Jacobs
Related Articles
1st Test: Devendra Bishoo's Five-Wicket Haul Puts West Indies In Control vs Zimbabwe
1st Test: Devendra Bishoo's Five-Wicket Haul Puts West Indies In Control vs Zimbabwe
Virat Kohli Slams India Batsmen, Says 'Expected Better Show'
Virat Kohli Slams India Batsmen, Says 'Expected Better Show'
Third ODI: Faf Du Plessis Injury Spoils South Africa Win vs Bangladesh
Third ODI: Faf Du Plessis Injury Spoils South Africa Win vs Bangladesh
Show Comments