West Indies' Denesh Ramdin has been fined 100 per cent of his match fees and suspended for two ODI matches after being found guilty of a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 match against Pakistan on Friday. Ramdin can, of course, appeal against the decision.
Scorecard | Schedule | Stats | Points Table | Teams and Squads
The West Indian vice-captain has been charged with "conduct contrary to the spirit of the game" for claiming a dropped catch during his side's match against Pakistan on Friday. The Caribbean skipper claimed the catch off Misbah-ul-Haq, despite the ball touching the floor. Ramdin had pleaded not guilty and a hearing took place on Monday. Chris Broad of the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees adjudicated the matter.
The charge against the 28-year-old Ramdin was laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.Â Â
Broad, explaining his decision, said: "This is regarded as a serious offence as it is theÂ responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game.Â I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."