Indian woman cricketer Snehal Pradhan's action declared legal

Updated: 08 February 2012 17:43 IST

India women's team bowler Snehal Pradhan, who had undergone remedial work and further testing is now eligible to bowl at international level after the ICC confirmed on Wednesday.

Indian woman cricketer Snehal Pradhan's action declared legal

Dubai:

India women's team bowler Snehal Pradhan, who had undergone remedial work and further testing, is now eligible to bowl at international level after the ICC confirmed on Wednesday.


An independent test found that the bowling action of Pradhan was legal. A comprehensive analysis had revealed that her mean elbow extension was now within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the relevant regulations.

Pradhan has been advised to be conscious of ensuring her elbow flexion levels are minimised at upper arm horizontal to ensure she remains well within the extension tolerance threshold.

During the original test on 20 July 2011, the analysis had showed that the amount of elbow extension in Pradhan's bowling action for all her deliveries exceeded the 15-degree level of tolerance by an average of two degrees.

In the wake of that test Pradhan was suspended from bowling in international cricket and subsequently underwent significant remedial work. The 25-year-old from Pune was reported by on-field umpires Jeff Evans and Graham Lloyd, following the completion of an ODI between England and India on 30 June at the Country Ground in Derby.

This latest independent analysis was performed under the guidance of Prof. Bruce Elliott, member of the ICC Panel of Human Movement Specialists, and his team at the School of Sport Science, Exercise and Health, University of Western Australia (UWA), Perth, on 25 January.

The regulations for the review of bowlers reported with suspected illegal bowling actions can be found by clicking here.

It is important to point out that under this process, as with all bowlers, Pradhan's action will continue to be scrutinised by match officials to ensure it remains legal.



Topics : Cricket
Related Articles
ICC Reason Behind Mohammad Asif Not Playing For Pakistan?
ICC Reason Behind Mohammad Asif Not Playing For Pakistan?
No Game Time For MS Dhoni Before First ODI vs England?
No Game Time For MS Dhoni Before First ODI vs England?
1st ODI: Steven Smith Ton Powers Australia to 68-Run Win Over New Zealand
1st ODI: Steven Smith Ton Powers Australia to 68-Run Win Over New Zealand
Show Comments
Advertisement