Broad in ball interference spotlight

Updated: 06 January 2010 12:43 IST

Stuart Broad was in the spotlight after television pictures captured him appearing to put the spikes of his boot into the ball during the third Test.

Broad in ball interference spotlight
©

Cape Town:

England fast bowler Stuart Broad was in the spotlight on Tuesday after television pictures captured him appearing to put the spikes of his boot into the ball during the third day's play of the third Test against South Africa at Newlands.

A South African team spokesman said there had been several queries from the media following the showing of the footage.

"We have raised our concerns with the match referee and it will be up to him to decide on any further action," said media manager Michael Owen-Smith.

England coach Andy Flower said he had not heard anything from match referee Roshan Mahanama or the umpires.

Broad stopped a rolling ball with the bottom of his boot and appeared to then step hard on it but Flower said he did not believe there was anything sinister about his action.

"I've seen a lot of tall fast bowlers stop the ball with their feet," he said. "I am surprised, I would have thought I would have heard about it by now."

Asked whether the footage could lead to allegations that the ability of the England bowlers to gain reverse swing early in an innings had been helped by illegal methods, Flower responded sharply: "Without a doubt, our bowlers have done it with skill."

At the close of play on Tuesday South Africa were 312 for two in their second innings, an overall lead of 330.

With two days remaining South Africa are now in a strong position to push for a series-levelling victory.

Topics : Cricket Stuart Broad
Related Articles
To Focus More On ODIs, AB De Villiers Opts Out Of Tests In New Zealand
To Focus More On ODIs, AB De Villiers Opts Out Of Tests In New Zealand
HCA Election Process Over, Results to be Declared After High Court Order
HCA Election Process Over, Results to be Declared After High Court Order
India Vs England 2nd ODI: Why India Might Field First Again If They Win The Toss
India Vs England 2nd ODI: Why India Might Field First Again If They Win The Toss
Show Comments
Advertisement