• The ICC Cricket World Cup get underway in India from October 5. Defending champions England face New Zealand in the opening match, which will be repeat of the 2019 final. The last three World Cups have all been won by the hosting nations -- India 2011, Australia (co-hosts alongside New Zealand) 2015 and England 2019. The final will be played on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which will also host the opener, as well as the blockbuster match between India and Pakistan on October 15. The 132,000-capacity venue's redevelopment was completed in 2021, hosting a day-night Test between India and England, as well as the last two IPL finals. A total of 10 grounds will play host to the 13th edition of the World Cup, from Dharamsala in the north to as far south as Bangalore and Chennai. The ICC World Cup 2023 will follow the same format as the previous edition four years ago, meaning that all 10 teams will face one another in a round-robin format. As per the current format, 10 teams will play every other side once in a single round robin format, with the top four teams going on to the semi-finals. The top team after the round robin will play the team finishing fourth on the table, while the second and third-place finishers will meet in the other semi-final. The winners of each semi-final will meet in the final on 20 November. An overall Rs 764,000,000 pot has been announced for the tournament. The winners of the tournament will take home Rs 332,385,000, with the runners-up winning US$2 million. Teams will also collect Rs 166,340,194. Both semi-finals will have a reserve day, as well as the summit clash. Should they need to be taken, matches on reserve days will take place a day after their originally-scheduled match date.