Ashley Cole in clear over Hernandez tackle

Updated: 19 September 2011 20:59 IST

The Football Association said on Monday that Chelsea left back Ashley Cole would not face further action for a shin-high tackle on Javier Hernandez in Sunday's 3-1 loss to Manchester United.

Ashley Cole in clear over Hernandez tackle
©

Manchester:

The Football Association said on Monday that Chelsea left back Ashley Cole would not face further action for a shin-high tackle on Javier Hernandez in Sunday's 3-1 loss to Manchester United.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson branded the tackle "shocking" and worthy of a dismissal but under FIFA rules Cole cannot be punished retrospectively as match officials took action to deal with the incident at the time, referee Phil Dowd deeming a yellow card sufficient punishment.

Cole caught Hernandez with a nasty two-footed challenge, although no penalty was awarded as the ball had gone out of play, and the Mexican striker was forced to come off with an injury that could keep him out for at least two weeks.

"For me it's a shocking tackle. The referee has booked him (Cole) and if he's booked him I don't know why it wasn't a penalty," Ferguson said afterwards.

Related Articles
Paul Pogba Sends Grieving Manchester United To Emotional Europa League Triumph
Paul Pogba Sends Grieving Manchester United To Emotional Europa League Triumph
Chelsea Cancel Premier League Victory Parade After Manchester Attack
Chelsea Cancel Premier League Victory Parade After Manchester Attack
Spain Supreme Court Confirms Lionel Messi Fraud Sentence
Spain Supreme Court Confirms Lionel Messi Fraud Sentence
Show Comments
Advertisement