Modi to lose all BCCI and IPL posts on Wednesday

Updated: 28 September 2010 12:33 IST

Lalit Modi will be shown the exit door at the BCCI Annual General Meeting to be held on Wednesday.

Modi to lose all BCCI and IPL posts on Wednesday


Lalit Modi will be shown the exit door at the BCCI Annual General Meeting to be held on Wednesday, and Rajiv Shukla will replace him as the vice-president from the Central Zone.

According to BCCI sources, Modi, who was suspended as the chairman of the Indian Premier League with allegations of financial irregularities in the cash rich T20 league, will cease to hold any post within the BCCI or IPL from Wednesday.

There will be no place for Modi in any BCCI or IPL committee. The Governing Council will be reconstituted after this amendment and according to BCCI sources five members would be appointed by the AGM along with two ex-cricketers while all the principal office bearers of the Board will be its ex-officio members.

Your Say: Should Lalit Modi be ousted from BCCI and IPL?

Currently three former cricketers - Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi, Sunil Gavaskar and Ravi Shastri are the members of the IPL Council.

Through an amendment to its memorandum of rules and regulations, which is to be done at the AGM, the BCCI is also set to bring the IPL Governing Council's tenure to one year like all its other sub-committees.

The alleged discrepancy in the accounts of IPL3 held in March-April this year would also be placed before the AGM.

On Monday, there was an internal audit of these accounts by the IPL Governing Council and it was found that an amount of Rs 76.22 crore, through sales of hospitality tickets for the two semi finals, the third place tie and the final, is allegedly unaccounted for, according to BCCI sources.

Tickets for the final, held at the D Y Patil Stadium on April 25, have also not been allegedly fully accounted for with only 30,000 tickets being shown to have been sold while the packed stadium accommodated over 50,000 spectators, the sources have indicated.

Another alleged scandal that came to light on Monday was in connection with the deal signed by IPL for installation of baggage screening machines of spectators at various venues, according to the sources. (Read: BCCI unearths new financial scandal in IPL 3)

The deal was signed with a Delhi-based company which existed only on paper while the invoice for Rs 1.5 crore, of which Rs 70 lakh have been paid, was raised by a Bangalore firm. The IPL accounts allegedly showed that the contract with the Delhi firm was for Rs 5.5 crore.

Former Cricket Board secretary Niranjan Shah is expected to replace Chirayu Amin as vice-president from the West Zone.

Shah represents Saurashtra, while Shukla is the President of the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association.

Existing BCCI president Shashank Manohar and secretary N Srinivasan are expected to continue in their respective posts, while the latter is well poised to become the next president-elect to take over the reigns in September 2011, the sources said. (Read: Srinivasan set to become BCCI president-elect at AGM)

Srinivasan belongs to the south zone, which will take over the reins of the Board next year after the turn of central zone in the rotation policy adopted by the BCCI.

Other office bearers of the Board are also expected to be elected unopposed for another year in the 2 plus 1 system of governance adopted by the Board.

The list includes treasurer M P Pandove and joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale. All of them have completed two years in their posts and have to be re-elected for the third year.

Arun Jaitley (north), N Shivlal Yadav (south) and Arindam Ganguly (east) are also set to retain their seats.

All the members of the senior selection committee, headed by Krishnamachari Srikanth, are likely to be retained. The other members are Yashpal Sharma, Surendra Bhave, Raja Venkat and Narendra Hirwani.

With the World Cup just around the corner, it is believed in Board's precincts that continuity in selection matters is needed in the run-up to the mega event.

The AGM is also to decide the venue of the second Test between India and New Zealand from November 12-16 after Kanpur, the original venue, and Kolkata have cried off from hosting the match.

The AGM would also nominate members of various committees, including the all-important Working Committee. Other routine matters like passing of the annual report and accounts for fiscal ending March 31, 2010 would be gone through.

(With PTI inputs)

Topics : Cricket
Related Articles
New Zealand-Bangladesh Test Third Day Washed Out
New Zealand-Bangladesh Test Third Day Washed Out
World Cup-Winning Australian Team To Get Medals 30 Years After Triumph
World Cup-Winning Australian Team To Get Medals 30 Years After Triumph
Australia vs Pakistan Live Score, 4th ODI in Sydney
Australia vs Pakistan Live Score, 4th ODI in Sydney
Show Comments