World Cup 2014: Arjen Robben Escapes Penalty After 'Admitting' to False Dive

Updated: 30 June 2014 22:04 IST

Arjen Robben's dive earned Netherlands a penalty which helped the side beat Mexico in their knockout match of FIFA World Cup 2014.

World Cup 2014: Arjen Robben Escapes Penalty After 'Admitting' to False Dive
Mexico's Rafael Marquez, left, gestures after 'fouling' Netherlands' Arjen Robben inside the penalty zone. © AP

Rio de Janeiro:

Dutch star Arjen Robben will not face any disciplinary action after admitting to diving during his team's last 16 victory with Mexico, Fifa confirmed on Monday.

Robben, who won a match-winning injury-time penalty to secure a 2-1 win for the Netherlands, admitted later he had dived in a failed attempt to win a spot-kick earlier in the match.

However Fifa spokeswoman Delia Fischer ruled out any possibility of retrospective actions when asked about Robben's comments at a briefing on Monday.

Fischer said sanctioning after the fact only applied to "serious infringements of foul play which have escaped the notice of the match officials."

The Dutch Football Association (KNVB) said earlier Monday that Robben's post-match comments had been misinterpreted.

"Media have interpreted statements from Robben in a Dutch post match interview completely wrong," the KNVB said.



Topics : Netherlands Mexico FIFA World Cup 2014 Arjen Robben Football
Related Articles
Ajinkya Rahane Exchanges Diwali Gifts With Bayern Munich's Arjen Robben
Ajinkya Rahane Exchanges Diwali Gifts With Bayern Munich's Arjen Robben
Benzema, Robben Among Top 5 Stars to Miss Euro 2016
Benzema, Robben Among Top 5 Stars to Miss Euro 2016
Juventus Achieve Dramatic Draw Against Bayern Munich in Champions League
Juventus Achieve Dramatic Draw Against Bayern Munich in Champions League
Show Comments
Advertisement