ICC Champions Trophy: Ball change cost Aleem Dar the final? speculates British media

Updated: 23 June 2013 10:00 IST

England captain Alastair Cook was unhappy with Aleem Dar for changing one of the match balls in their defeat to Sri Lanka at The Oval last week, leading to speculation of ball tampering.

ICC Champions Trophy: Ball change cost Aleem Dar the final? speculates British media
©

Birmingham:

The change of ball during England's loss to Sri Lanka in the group stages has apparently cost Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar an opportunity to be an on-field official in today's ICC Champions Trophy final.

Scorecard | Features | Stats | Photos | Tracker

England captain Alastair Cook was unhappy with Dar for changing one of the match balls in their defeat to Sri Lanka at The Oval last week, leading to speculation of ball tampering.

And the British media speculated that the ball change incident might be a reason behind ICC's decision to exclude Dar from on-field duties.

"England have been spared one potential concern in the Champions Trophy final with Aleem Dar relegated to the peripheral fourth umpire role," a report in the 'The Guardian' said on Saturday.

"Dar's role as fourth umpire will be purely supportive - one of his official roles is to make sure the batteries are working in the light meters," it added.

Kumar Dharmasena and Rod Tucker have been named as the on-field umpires for Sunday's final between India and England, while Bruce Oxenford will discharge the duties of the third umpire.

Topics : England India Cricket
Related Articles
Virat Kohli Decodes Disastrous England Tour And How He Changed Things Around
Virat Kohli Decodes Disastrous England Tour And How He Changed Things Around
Virat Kohli Says He Might Not Play For As Long As Sachin Tendulkar
Virat Kohli Says He Might Not Play For As Long As Sachin Tendulkar
India vs England: Kedar Jadhav Gave us no Chance, Admits Eoin Morgan
India vs England: Kedar Jadhav Gave us no Chance, Admits Eoin Morgan
Show Comments
Advertisement