West Indies' Denesh Ramdin has been charged with a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during his side's Group B encounter against Pakistan at The Oval on day two of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on Friday, an ICC media release said. (Read: West Indies scrape past Pakistan)
Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game."
The charge has been laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.
On Saturday, Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq slammed West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch during Friday's gripping Champions Trophy clash at The Oval. Misbah scored a career-best 96 not out in his side's two-wicket defeat in south London but thought he was out for nought when Ramdin claimed a catch off man-of-the-match Kemar Roach. (Related read: Misbah slams Ramdin, Bravo defends him)
Australian umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out but, following the intervention of English official Nigel Llong at square leg, the decision was referred to third umpire Tony Hill.
Replays showed that while Ramdin had, initially, caught the ball, he had subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp.
Eventually it was decided that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball and Misbah was reprieved.
Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to the offence, and a hearing will take place in London on Monday.
The range of penalties for all first Level 2 breaches are the imposition of a fine of between 50-100% of a player's match fee and/or a suspension of up to two (2) ODI matches.
(With AFP inputs)