Shashank Manohar becomes new BCCI chief

Updated: 01 October 2008 13:54 IST

Shashank Manohar took over as the new President of the Indian Cricket Board succeeding Sharad Pawar.


Nagpur lawyer Shashank Manohar on Saturday took over as the new President of the Indian Cricket Board succeeding Sharad Pawar in a smooth transition of power that also saw N Srinivasan becoming the BCCI secretary at the 79th AGM of the apex cricket body in the country.

Manohar, who was chosen to succeed Pawar at the last AGM and served as its president-elect, was one of the five vice presidents under Pawar, whose three-year term ended on Saturday.

In other key changes effected, Krishnamachari Srikkanth, the former Test and ODI opener who also captained India on the 1989 tour of Pakistan, was appointed as the Chief Selector of the first-ever paid panel replacing Dilip Vengsarkar.

His co-selectors will be Yashpal Sharma, Raja Venkat, Surendra Bhave and Narendra Hirwani.

Former Test and Mumbai pacer Abey Kuruvilla became the new chairman of the junior selection panel following the refusal of another Mumbai ex-Test player, opener Lalchand Rajput, to accept the job.

Sanjeev Sharma, chairman of the outgoing junior selection panel, remained a member of the five-man panel along with Sanjay Desai, Rajesh Borah, Rajinder Singh Hans with Sanjay Jagdale, who became the new joint secretary, as its convener.

Mahendra Pandove, who was the joint secretary under Pawar, became the new treasurer.

The five vice presidents elected unopposed like the other office bearers were: Arun Jaitley, N Shivlal Yadav, Aridam Ganguly, Chirayu Amin and Lalit Modi.

Pawar, who is now the vice president and president-elect of the International Cricket Council, will continue to have connections with the BCCI not only as the president of the Mumbai Cricket Association, but also as the chairman of its important Marketing sub-committee.

Rajeev Shukla, one of the vice presidents during Pawar's reign, was elected as the new chairman of the Finance Committee while Niranjan Shah, secretary till on Friday, was appointed vice chairman of the Indian Premier League headed by Modi.

Manohar, addressing the media after becoming the board's new chief, said that the Working Committee had only decided that a player should have played his last international match ten years ago to become eligible to be apopointed on the senior selection panel.

"What has appeared in the media is wrong as we went through the minutes of the meeting and found that this was the criteria to be adopted. There was no mention of retirement in the minutes," said Manohar who will turn 51 on Monday.

However, the BCCI itself had circulated a media release about the important decisions taken at its WC meeting on August 23 in which it was clearly mentioned that one of the norms agreed upon was "while appointing a senior selector, care will be taken to ensure that he should have retired at least ten years ago".

The about-turn done on the issue by the BCCI helped MP's Hirwani, who retired only in February, 2008, and Bhave of Maharashtra, who hung up his bat in 2001, in finding a berth in the senior selection panel.

The other criteria for becoming a senior selector to be adopted at the AGM were that the person should have played for India or in more than 25 first class matches and should not be an office bearer of the BCCI or any of its affiliated units.

Because of the latter rule, not only Vengsarkar, but two other selectors from the previous panel holding office-bearers' posts in their respective associations, Ranjib Biswal and Venkatapathy Raju, could not be appointed as selectors.

"The selectors' appointment is for one year and they can remain selectors if re-appointed for not more than four years," Manohar elaborated.

Manohar also revealed that a court case against former BCCI chief Jagmohan Dalmiya, who attended the AGM as the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, has been filed in Mumbai on September 23 for recovery of Rs 47 crore that he is alleged to have misappropriated from the PILCOM World Cup accounts of 1996.

"The suit has been filed in Mumbai on September 23. It has not yet come up for hearing. The accounts were passed unanimously and you can draw your own conclusion," Manohar said.

It was also decided to celebrate the Platinum Jubilee of the first Test played on Indian soil, against England at the Bombay Gymkhana in December 1933, on December 17.

It was also approved that the Board would set up a sports medicine centre to help cricketers and other sports persons and that cricketers who played in the Ranji Trophy in the 2007-08 season would receive Rs 37,000 per match, Manohar said.

While Amish Saheba and Suresh Shastri were once again nominated on the ICC international panel, it was decided to replace Pratap Kumar with Shavik Tarapore as the third umpire on the same panel, according to Manohar.

The cricket associations of three north eastern states - Meghalaya, Nagaland and Arunachal - were granted Affiliate Membership while Associate Membership was given to Chattisgarh State Cricket Association and Bihar Cricket Association.

About the request for affiliation by Uttarakhand the general body has authorised the Working Committee to take a final decision on the issue as more than one organisation from the region had claimed representation, Manohar said.

Topics : Cricket Sreesanth
Related Articles
Going Early On Tour Helps, Says Mithali Raj
Going Early On Tour Helps, Says Mithali Raj
India vs South Africa: COA To Review India's Dismal Performance in Tests
India vs South Africa: COA To Review India's Dismal Performance in Tests
When And Where To Watch, South Africa vs India, 3rd Test Match, Live Coverage On TV, Live Streaming Online
When And Where To Watch, South Africa vs India, 3rd Test Match, Live Coverage On TV, Live Streaming Online
Show Comments