4th ODI: Bowlers give India 8-run win

Updated: 11 October 2007 14:10 IST

Chasing 292, Australia reached 283 for seven in the fourth one-dayer against India at Chandigarh on Monday.


India narrowly beat Australia by 8 runs in the fourth one-dayer against India at Chandigarh on Monday to record its first ODI win against the Kangaroos since 2004.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named Man of the Match for his all-round performance with bat and behind the stumps.

Chasing 292, Australia just managed 283 for seven.

Earlier, Matthew Hayden and Adam Gilchrist went about their job with clinical precision yet again scoring 37 runs in five overs before RP Singh struck to get rid of the latter for 18 runs to give India a welcome breakthrough.

But post Gilchrist's exit, things became worse for India as Hayden cut loose and along with Ricky Ponting continued to score briskly to lead the Australian chase.

Hayden notched his 33rd ODI half century and his 4th against India off just 39 deliveries and struck six boundaries and two sixes en route to it.

Australia lost their third wicket in the form of skipper Ricky Ponting. Dhoni stumped Ponting on the line for 29, but the Australian skipper thought otherwise.

And the hosts were right back in the game when Harbhajan's guile proved too much for Michael Clarke.

Andrew Symonds then joined Hayden, as the two maintained the tempo in the middle overs. The duo put up a 58-run partnership to put Australia back on track before Murali Kartik foxed him for 92 runs to give India a vital breakthrough.

Australia still held the upper hand right until the 47th over. But the tide turned in the space of two balls as Symonds departed for 75, after his 7th half-century against India.

Soon after, Brad Hogg paid the price for a moment of madness as Australia were reduced to 268 for 7, needing 24 off 18 balls.

Murali Kartik, playing his first ODI in 20 months, bowled the crucial 48th over, which went for just 2 runs.

Australia needed 16 off the last over, but that proved too difficult a task for James Hopes and Brett Lee.

Tendulkar's fighting 79

After Sachin Tendulkar laid the foundation with a fighting 79, MS Dhoni's late charge spurred India to 291 for four.

A timely half century by Dhoni- which came on the last ball with a huge six - and a impetuous Robin indulged in some big hitting at the end to lift India to a competitive total.

With the return of Sourav Ganguly, for the first time in the series, India managed to see through the first 10 overs without losing a wicket, although the start was sluggish.

The Australian new ball bowlers, Brett Lee and Nathan Bracken moved the ball in the air and off the seam to keep the Indian openers on a leash. Lee, in particular, troubled the master blaster but he hung in there despite being beaten more than a few times.

The speedster almost had Tendulkar caught behind in his second over but was turned down. The snickometer revealed that the batsman had got an inside edge.

The duo seized the initiative and and Ganguly started to attack before falling in the 20th over. The duo put on a 90-run partnership before the southpaw was out caught behind off James Hopes for 41 runs, which included six hits to the fence.

Yuvraj Singh, the new man in, and Tendulkar then turned on the accelerator bringing up the fifty-run stand between them in 69 deliveries. Tendulkar played the sheet anchor, reaching his 84th ODI fifty in the process.

The local boy started off shakily, but then started to open up as he played some flambouyant shots, putting up a 83 run second wicket stand with Sachin Tendulkar, before James Hopes produced an erratic shot from the left hander, dismissing him for 39.

Tendulkar began to find his range slowly before a direct hit from Lee resulted in his disastrous run out for 79 runs.

RP Singh, Sourav Ganguly and Murali Kartik were back in the Indian side, replacing Sreesanth, Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma.

For Australia, Nathan Bracken replaced Stuart Clark.


India: Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Irfan Pathan, Robin Uthappa, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, RP Singh, Murali Kartik, Zaheer Khan.

Australia: Adam Gilchrist (C), Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Ricky Ponting, Mathew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Mitchel Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, James Hopes.

Topics : Cricket Sreesanth
Related Articles
3rd Test: Alastair Cook Defies South Africa On Rain-Hit First Day
3rd Test: Alastair Cook Defies South Africa On Rain-Hit First Day
What PM Narendra Modi Told The Women's Cricket Team
What PM Narendra Modi Told The Women's Cricket Team
India vs Sri Lanka: Nuwan Pradeep Over The Moon After Taking Virat Kohli's Wicket
India vs Sri Lanka: Nuwan Pradeep Over The Moon After Taking Virat Kohli's Wicket
Show Comments