Listen to the latest songs, only on

Chennai Super Kings

Trophy Cabinet
  • 4
    Indian Premier League
    2010, 2011, 2018, 2021

CSK Stats

About Chennai Super Kings

Owned by The India Cements Ltd., Chennai Super Kings have been the most dominating team in the IPL since its inception in 2008. The team's name draws inspiration from the rich tradition of the golden Tamil era that boasted of many great, fearless rulers. The franchise seems to have stuck to its cultural background and have exhibited their talent on the cricketing field as well.

Led by captain cool MS Dhoni, the Super Kings have performed consistently since the beginning; finalists in the first edition, semi-finalists in the second, champions in the third, and then history was created as they successfully defended their title in the fourth edition, becoming the first team in IPL to do so. With a perfect balance of Indian as well as international players, the team comes across as a tough nut to crack. They not only dominated the IPL, but also went on to win the Champions League T20 title in 2010, surpassing all other teams in the world. Dhoni's army went into the 2011 edition of the CLT20 as defending champions, but failed to defend it successfully and were knocked out in the league stages itself.

However, the Super Kings retained the same squad for the 2012 IPL edition; the only addition being that of Ravindra Jadeja who was bought in the auctions, thereby making him the costliest buy of the season. They had a fairly moderate season, winning games here and there but came good in the playoffs, ultimately finishing as the runners-up, losing to eventual winners, Kolkata Knight Riders. Yet again in 2013, they entered the finals but were beaten by Mumbai.

After missing a couple of seasons due to off-field incidents, they made a stunning comeback to the IPL in 2018 wherein they won their 3rd title on return. The squad largely consisted of experienced players, with not much youth, but Dhoni and his men made it count. The Yellow team was well on track to defend their title in the 2019 season but failed to overpower Mumbai Indians in their 8th IPL final.