Ruturaj Gaikwad Replaces MS Dhoni As CSK Captain Ahead Of IPL 2024

  • 1:19
  • Mar 21, 2024;
Ruturaj Gaikwad replaced MS Dhoni as the skipper of Chennai Super Kings ahead of IPL 2024. The announcement came after Gaikwad attended the captains' meeting ahead of this year's competition in Chennai on Thursday. MS Dhoni was the captain of CSK since the inaugural season of IPL and he has won the title five times - the joint-most by any skipper alongside Mumbai Indians' Rohit Sharma. Gaikwad, who has played six ODIs and 19 T20s for India, made his CSK debut in 2020 and has gone on to represent the five time IPL champions in 52 games. The right-handed opener had a memorable run last year, aggregating 590 runs in 16 games at an impressive strike rate of 147.50.