New IPL Teams Named; Ahmedabad To CVC Capital Partners, RPSG Group Gets Lucknow

It is the start of a new chapter for the Indian Premier League (IPL) with the addition of two new teams, which will make the tournament a 10-team affair from the upcoming 2022 season. The two new IPL franchises will be based out of Ahmedabad and Lucknow, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Monday. CVC Captial Partners, a private equity and investment advisory firm, won the bid for the Ahmedabad team, while the RPSG Group, an Indian conglomerate, won the bid for the Lucknow franchise.