World Cup 2014: Arjen Robben Escapes Penalty After 'Admitting' to False Dive

Arjen Robben's dive earned Netherlands a penalty which helped the side beat Mexico in their knockout match of FIFA World Cup 2014.

Updated: June 30, 2014 22:04 IST
  • Total Shares
Arjen Robben Dive 1
Mexico's Rafael Marquez, left, gestures after 'fouling' Netherlands' Arjen Robben inside the penalty zone.

© AP

Rio de Janeiro: Dutch star Arjen Robben will not face any disciplinary action after admitting to diving during his team's last 16 victory with Mexico, Fifa confirmed on Monday.

Robben, who won a match-winning injury-time penalty to secure a 2-1 win for the Netherlands, admitted later he had dived in a failed attempt to win a spot-kick earlier in the match.

However Fifa spokeswoman Delia Fischer ruled out any possibility of retrospective actions when asked about Robben's comments at a briefing on Monday.

Fischer said sanctioning after the fact only applied to "serious infringements of foul play which have escaped the notice of the match officials."

The Dutch Football Association (KNVB) said earlier Monday that Robben's post-match comments had been misinterpreted.

"Media have interpreted statements from Robben in a Dutch post match interview completely wrong," the KNVB said.

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Football
  • FIFA World Cup 2014
  • Arjen Robben
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands

Leave a comment