Prayag United's Ranti Martins adjudged 'Best Player' of I-League

It was double delight for Ranti as he also won the 'Best Forward' award pipping East Bengal's Chidi Edeh.

Updated: June 21, 2013 14:24 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Nigerian striker Ranti Martins has been adjudged as the 'Best Player' of the last edition of I-League in which he scored 27 goals for Prayag United topping the scorers' list.

It was double delight for Ranti as he also won the 'Best Forward' award pipping East Bengal's Chidi Edeh.

Veteran goalkeeper Sandip Nandy, who is pushing 40, was also rewarded for his stupendous performance under the Churchill Brothers goalpost as he bagged the 'Best Goalkeeper' award beating Salgaocar's Karanjit Singh and Dempo's Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, who were second and third respectively.

Talented India international and Churchill Brothers medio Lenny Rodrigues also dominated the awards list as he finished runner-up to Ranti in the 'Best Player' list but made up for it by winning the 'Best Midfielder' award. The lanky Lenny, who has been a regular feature in the starting XI of the national team was a picture of consistency in the Churchill midfield.

East Bengal's Uga Okpara won the 'Best Defender' award beating Prayag's Bello Razzaq and Churchill Brothers' Bilal Najjarin.

All the Players were chosen as winners after voting from all the Coaches and Captains of I-League Clubs.

The Best Coach for the I-League 2012-13 will be decided in the next AIFF Executive Committee meeting.

Winners (Top-3)
Best Player: Ranti Martins (Prayag United)
2nd: Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill)
3rd: Douhou Pierre (Pune FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Sandip Nandy (Churchill Brothers)
2nd: Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar)
3rd: Subhasish Roychowdhury (Dempo)

Best Defender: Uga Okpara (East Bengal)
2nd: Bello Razzak (Prayag United)
3rd: Bilal Najjarin (Churchill Brothers)

Best Midfielder: Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers)
2nd: Douhou Pierre (Pune FC)
3rd: Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal)

Best Forward: Ranti Martins (Prayag United)
2nd: Chidi Edeh (East Bengal)
3rd: James Moga (Pune FC).

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Football

Leave a comment