Spot-fixing: Shastri, Shirke included in BCCI's 3-member independent committee

BCCI chief had earlier said that he will not be part of either selecting member of the committee or in its functioning.

Updated: May 27, 2013 14:53 IST
  • Total Shares

Board of Control for Cricket in India's three-member disciplinary committee will comprise of Ajay Shirke, former cricketer Ravi Shastri and a retired High Court judge. The independent committee will investigate Gurunath Meiyappan's alleged role in betting during the Indian Premier League.

While Shirke is the BCCI treasurer, Shastri has been part of the IPL Governing Council.

Earlier, on Sunday, BCCI chief N Srinivasan had announced that the committee will submit a report based on its findings and that he as chief of BCCI will not be part of the commission nor will he have a role in selecting it. (Also read, developing story: BCCI sources contradict Srinivasan, say he was asked to quit)

"We have set up an independent commission to probe in to allegations against concerned players and officials, including Gurunath Meiyappan," he had said in a press conference in Kolkata. "I will await the findings of this commission as much as you. I will have no rule to play in this enquiry." (Srinivasan's full statement)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment