Champions League Twenty20: Gautam Gambhir Scores a 'Century' for Record-Breaking Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir has led in a hundred T20 matches during the course of the Champions League Twenty20, 2014.

Updated: September 30, 2014 19:24 IST
  • Total Shares
gambhir kolkata knight riders
Gautam Gambhir has lead Kolkata Knight Riders to two Indian Premier League titles.


Gautam Gambhir has reached a captaincy milestone for Kolkata Knight Riders during the Champions League Twenty20 currently in its final week. The former Indian opener has become the second captain to have led in 100 matches in Twenty20, winning 60 and losing 38 (tied one and no-result one). Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the first to accomplish the feat, having led in whopping 183 games in Twenty20. (Kolkata Knight Riders Thrash Dolphins)

Gambhir reached the landmark on a day when Kolkata Knight Riders won 13 games in succession, setting an Indian record for most consecutive wins in Twenty20. Bengal had won 12 in-a-row between October 24, 2009 and October 24, 2011. Bengal's 12 wins came in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.(Scorecard|Highlights)

Kolkata Knight Riders produced some special show on Gambhir's 100th match as skipper. Kolkata's 187 for two is their second highest in Champions League Twenty20, next only to the 188 for five versus Titans at Cape Town on October 21, 2012.

Kolkata easily beat the Dolphins by 36 runs at Hyderabad. Robin Uthappa (85 not out off 55 balls) scored his 21st fifty in Twenty20. It was his first in Champions League Twenty20.

Uthappa was ably supported by Manish Pandey, who struck an unbeaten 76 off 47 balls. It is the second highest by a Kolkata batsman in CLT20.

Uthappa and Pandey were involved in a stand of 153 (unbroken) for the third wicket -- Kolkata's highest century stand for any wicket in Twenty20, bettering the 152 (unbroken) between Jacques Kallis and Gambhir for the second wicket vs Rajasthan Royals at Jaipur on April 15, 2011.

The 153-run partnership is the highest by any pair for any wicket in Champions League Twenty20, eclipsing the 147 for the first wicket between Davy Jacobs and Ashwell Prince for Warriors vs Central Districts at Port Elizabeth on September 18, 2010.

(With inputs from Rajesh Kumar)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment