Eoin Morgan to Lead England in T20 vs World Champions Sri Lanka

Tim Bresnan and Michael Carberry return to face Sri Lanka in ODI series starting May 22.

Updated: May 13, 2014 16:34 IST
  • Total Shares

England selectors on Tuesday announced a 13-man squad for the NatWest International T20 against current ICC World T20 champions Sri Lanka on May 20 at the Oval and a 14-man squad for the first three matches in the five match One-Day Series against Sri Lanka beginning on May 22 at the Oval. (Eoin Morgan opts out of IPL)

Eoin Morgan will captain the T20 side in the absence of Stuart Broad who is undergoing a period of rehabilitation on his right knee. Morgan will lead a side containing two uncapped players, 27-year-old Nottinghamshire left-arm seamer Harry Gurney and 33-year-old Hampshire batsman Michael Carberry.

Alastair Cook's ODI squad sees the addition of Yorkshire all-rounder Tim Bresnan and batsman Carberry from the squad that recently defeated Scotland by 39 runs in Aberdeen in a rain-affected ODI.

National selector, James Whitaker, said: "Playing the World T20 Champions in front of a home crowd is a hugely exciting opportunity for this squad. With Stuart currently unavailable we have chosen Eoin to lead the side and I would like to wish him and the rest of the squad all the very best.

"We are entering an important period of 50-over cricket with a World Cup less than nine months away and this series against a skilful Sri Lankan side offers a chance to regain some momentum and for players to demonstrate the skill and passion we will need if we are to be serious contenders next year in Australia and New Zealand."

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt); Moeen Ali (Worcestershire); Ian Bell (Warwickshire); Ravi Bopara (Essex); Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire); Jos Buttler (Lancashire); Michael Carberry (Hampshire); Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire); Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire); Chris Jordan (Sussex); Joe Root (Yorkshire); James Tredwell (Kent); Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

England ODI squad (Matches 1-3):
Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt); James Anderson (Lancashire); Gary Ballance (Yorkshire); Ian Bell (Warwickshire); Ravi Bopara (Essex); Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire); Jos Buttler (Lancashire); Michael Carberry (Hampshire); Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire); Chris Jordan (Sussex); Eoin Morgan (Middlesex); Joe Root (Yorkshire); James Tredwell (Kent); Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment