Virat Kohli is ICC ODI Player of the Year

India's Virat Kohli was on Saturday, named the ODI Cricketer of the Year at the ICC annual awards function here.

Updated: September 15, 2012 20:52 IST
  • Total Shares

Colombo: India's Virat Kohli was on Saturday, named the ODI Cricketer of the Year at the ICC annual awards function here.

Kohli won the award for his consistent performance over the last 12 months during which he amassed runs all over the world and against almost all the countries India played. ( Also see: Winners and others in pics)

During the last one year, Kohli played 31 ODIs and scored 1733 runs at an outstanding average of 66.65, including eight hundreds and six half-centuries.

His highest score was 183, against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

"I think I have tried to keep things as simple as possible and it's worked for me on the field," Kohli said.

"This year has been a learning curve along the way from the seniors in the team. It's been an all-round effort and I'm very happy to have won this award.

"It's always nice to be recognised by the ICC and it's a great feeling and it's the first time I've won one of these awards and it feels great," he added.

In the 50-over format, Kohli has so far scored 3886 runs from 90 matches at an average of 51.81.

In Test cricket, he has scored 703 runs from 10 matches at an average of 41.35. He has two centuries and five fifties, with 116 being his best.

Full list of winners:

Kumar Sangakkara: ICC Cricketer of the Year, ICC Test Player of the Year and People's Choice Award

Virat Kohli: ICC ODI Player of the Year

Richard Levi: ICC T20I Performer of the Year

George Dockrell: ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year

Kumar Dharmasena: ICC Umpire of the Year

Daniel Vettori: Spirit of cricket award

Stefanie Taylor: ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year

Sarah Taylor: ICC Women's T20I Cicketer of the Year

ICC Test team of the year:

Alastair Cook (ENG), Hashim Amla (RSA), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Michael Clarke (AUS - capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS), Matt Prior (ENG - wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (ENG), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Vernon Philander (RSA), Dale Steyn (RSA). 12th man: AB de Villiers (RSA)

ICC ODI team of the year:

Gautam Gambhir (IND), Alastair Cook (ENG), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Virat Kohli (IND), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND - wicketkeeper/captain), Michael Clarke (AUS), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Morne Morkel (RSA), Steven Finn (ENG), Lasith Malinga (SRI), Saeed Ajmal (PAK). 12th man: Shane Watson (AUS)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment