Bangladesh Name Two Uncapped Players for ODIs vs India, Mushfiqur to Lead

Bangladesh Cricket Board has named uncapped Mohammed Mithun and Taskin Ahmed in its squad to face India in three ODIs this month.

Updated: June 06, 2014 00:44 IST
  • Total Shares

Mushfiqur Rahim will lead Bangladesh in the ODI series against India

The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday announced a 15-man national squad for the three-match Sahara Cup ODI series against India. The Indian side arrives in Dhaka on June 13 and the day-night games are scheduled at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur on June 15, 17 and 19 June. Batsman Mohammed Mithun and 19-year-old pace bowler Taskin Ahmed are the uncapped members of the team. The team will be led by the experienced Mushfiqur Rahim.

Chairman of BCB national selection panel Faruque Ahmed said: "We have kept more or less a settled squad but it is also important to get an idea about the kind of back up we have in our hands as we start preparing for the ICC World Cup in Australia-New Zealand.

"Mithun has been under our radar for a while. He has performed consistently in the limited overs format and in the longer version as well during the last couple of years and deserves a chance at the international level. Taskin is an exciting prospect and has already played a Twenty20 international. We thought it was a good opportunity to see how he performs in the 50 overs game in home conditions against some quality batsmen.

"Al Amin has bowled impressively since his debut and Masrafe Mortaza is our most experienced campaigner. We also have a seam bowling all-rounder in Ziaur Rahman. Because of these pace options and squad balance Rubel Hossain misses out. The spin department is well covered with Abdur Razzak, Shakib Al Hasan and Shohag Gazi. Mahmud Ullah is also quite handy and can do a job for his captain."

SQUAD: Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Hoque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmud Ullah, Md. Mithun, Abdur Razzak, Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Shohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment