ICC releases schedule, India Women take on West Indies in World Cup opener

England, New Zealand, Australia and India all qualified for the event by virtue of finishing in the top four in the last World Cup in Australia in 2009.

Updated: December 03, 2012 17:59 IST
  • Total Shares

Dubai: Hosts India will open the ICC Women's World Cup at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai next year against the West Indies on Jan 31.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Monday released the schedule and format of the tournament to be held in Mumbai from Jan 31 to Feb 17.

Defending champions England will begin their campaign also at the Wankhede against Sri Lanka Feb 2.

Last edition's runners-up New Zealand play their first match against South Africa also at the Wankhede Feb 1.

The top eight women's sides in the world will battle it out to be crowned the World Champions.

England, New Zealand, Australia and India all qualified for the event by virtue of finishing in the top four in the last World Cup in Australia in 2009.

Joining the top four will be the top four sides from the World Cup Qualifiers held in Bangladesh in November 2011. Winners West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa make up the remaining places in the tournament.

The eight teams have been divided into two groups of four with the top three progressing into the Super Sixes stage.

A total of 25 matches will be played across five venues in Mumbai: Wankhede Stadium, Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC), Brabourne Stadium, Middle Income Group Club Ground (MIG) and D.Y. Patil Stadium, with Brabourne Stadium scheduled to host the final Feb 17 in a day-night match.

Upon the announcement of the schedule, ICC president Alan Isaac said: "The ICC Women's World Cup is the pinnacle of women's cricket and to have India hosting the top eight women's sides in the one-day format is a real boost to women's cricket in this part of the world.

"This will be the third time that India has staged the Women's World Cup but this could be by far the most significant," he said.


Group A - England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4)
Group B - Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4)

Warm-up matches (all starting at 0900 local time):

28 Jan - England v Pakistan, Wankhede Stadium; India v South Africa, BKC; West Indies v Australia, CCI; New Zealand v Sri Lanka, MIG

29 Jan - India v Australia, Wankhede Stadium; West Indies v Pakistan, BKC

30 Jan - Sri Lanka v South Africa, CCI; England v New Zealand, DY Patil

Tournament schedule:

31 Jan - India v West Indies (D/N), Wankhede Stadium; Australia v Pakistan, BKC
1 Feb - New Zealand v South Africa (D/N), Wankhede Stadium
2 Feb - England v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium
3 Feb - New Zealand v Pakistan, BKC; Australia v South Africa, CCI
4 Feb - India v England, Wankhede Stadium; Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG
5 Feb - Pakistan v South Africa, BKC; Australia v New Zealand (D/N), DY Patil
6 Feb - India v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium; England v West Indies (D/N), CCI
7 Feb - Rest Day
8 Feb - Rest Day

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment