World Twenty20 2014: Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Team India to leave on March 14

Inaugural World Twenty20 champions India, who have failed to make the semi-finals of tournament on the last three occasions, play two warm-up games against Sri Lanka (March 17) and England (March 19) ahead of the their opener against Pakistan on March 21.

Updated: March 11, 2014 00:24 IST
  • Total Shares

Mumbai: Team India, which flopped in the just concluded Asia Cup, is set to depart from Mumbai on Friday for the ICC World T20 Championship, scheduled in Bangladesh from March 16. (Read: Duncan Fletcher should suffer the fate of a Sehwag, Gambhir, says Sunil Gavaskar)

India open their campaign, to regain the title that they won in its inaugural year in 2007, against arch-rivals Pakistan on March 21 at Mirpur. (Read: Rahul Dravid best man to replace Fletcher, says Gavaskar)

Prior to that opening contest the team, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni - who had skipped the Asia Cup because of a side strain - would play a couple of warm-up games against Sri Lanka (March 17) and England (March 19).

According to Cricket Board sources, Dhoni and under-fire coach Duncan Fletcher are not scheduled to address the media here prior to leaving for Dhaka.

"The media conference will be held after they reach Dhaka," BCCI sources told PTI.

There was no pre-departure media meet when the team, led by stand-by captain Virat Kohli, left from here on February 23 for the Asia Cup.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma and Varun Aaron.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment