'Rebel' tennis players wish 'new' team 'all the best' in a joint press statement

The AITA was forced to pick a completely new squad after the eight rebel players refused to budge despite some additional concessions the national body made.

Updated: January 12, 2013 00:12 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Joint Press Statement from Mahesh Bhupathi, Rohan Bopanna, Somdev Devvarman, Yuki Bhambri, Vishnu Vardhan, Sanam Singh, Divij Sharan, Saketh Myneni, Sriram Balaji, Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan & Vijay Sundar Prashanth 11th January 2013:

"We have just learned the composition of the team nominated by the AITA to represent India at the Davis Cup tie against South Korea in the first week of February. We are disappointed to note that instead of engaging in discussion with us, the AITA has selected an inexperienced team to represent the country in this crucial Davis Cup fixture.In making each of our suggestions to the AITA, we were guided by our strong convictions regarding what we believed was fair and beneficial to the future of the sport in the country and are dismayed to hear that the AITA has labelled our suggestions "unfair and unjustified". The AITA's position reiterates and reaffirms our stand, and we are constrained to state that, unfortunately, we will be unavailable to represent the country until such time that the AITA engages with us in good faith.We wish the Indian Davis Cup team that has been selected for the fixture all the very best."

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Tennis
  • Mahesh Bhupathi
  • Somdev Devvarman
  • Rohan Bopanna
  • Vishnu Vardhan
  • Yuki Bhambri
  • Divij Sharan

Leave a comment