Schumi takes Suzuka for record 53rd win

Updated: 25 February 2007 07:37 IST

Michael Schumacher wins the Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka, Japan for his 53rd career win.


World champion Michael Schumacher powered his Ferrari for the ninth victory of the season and also became the first driver in the history of Formula One to win 53 races. He crossed the chequered flag ahead of Juan Pablo Montoya and David Coulthard to win the Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka, the final event of the 2001 formula one season. Having won the title last year, defending champ Schumacher set a blistering pace and led for most of the 53 laps at the 5.85 kilometer Suzuka circuit in western Japan. Juan Pablo Montoya was second in his Williams BMW and David Coulthard drove his McLaren Mercedes to a third place finish. With 21 laps remaining, Montoya did get a lead over Schumacher when the champion took 9 secs in his pit stop but Schumacher took his lead back in the 38th lap and there was no looking back. Veteran Jean Alesi, who announced his retirement from Formula One on Wednesday in Tokyo and had the fastest time in Friday's practice session, was forced to pull out of his last race when his Jordan Honda struck Kimi Raikkonen's Sauber Petronas early in the race. Raikkonen lost control of his car and Alesi hit him from behind. Neither driver was seriously injured in the mishap but their cars were too badly damaged to continue. Much of the focus, however, of Sunday's race at Suzuka was on second place in the drivers' standings. Schumacher's team-mate Rubens Barrichello, who needed to win the race to have any chance of overtaking Coulthard for second place in the standings finished fifth. Mika Hakkinen, who will be taking a year off after this race, drove his McLaren Mercedes to a fourth place finish. And the ferrari team clearly elated by their champions performance who also equalled Nigel Mansel's record of nine wins in a season.
Results of the Formula One Japanese Grand Prix on the 5.85 kilometer (3.6 miles) Suzuka Circuit.
Under Driver, Nationality, Team and fastest lap
1. Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari, 1 hour, 27 minutes, 33.298 seconds, 212.664 kph.
2. Juan Pablo Montoya, Colombia, Williams BMW, 1:27:36.452.
3. David Coulthard, Britain, McLaren Mercedes, 1:27:56.560.
4. Mika Hakkinen, Finland, McLaren Mercedes, 1:28:08.837.
5. Rubens Barrichello, Brazil, Ferrari, 1:28:09.842.
6. Ralf Schumacher, Germany, Williams BMW, 1:28:10.420.
7. Jenson Button, Britain, Benneton Renault, 1:29:10.400.
8. Jarno Trulli, Italy, Jordan Honda, 1:27:43.816.
9. Nick Heidfeld, Germany, Sauber Petronas, 1:27:44.304.
10. Jacques Villeneuve, Canada, BAR Honda, 1:27:48.007.
11. Fernando Alonso, Spain, European Minardi, 1:28:31.445.
12. Heinz-Harald Frentzen, Germany, Prost Acer, 1:28:31.691.
13. Olivier Panis, France, BAR Honda, 1:27:41.084.
14. Enrique Bernoldi, Brazil, Arrows Asiatech, 1:28:52.657.
15. Jos Verstappen, Netherlands, Arrows Asiatech, 1:30:00.139.
16. Alex Yoong, Malaysia, European Minardi, 1:28:51.095.
17. Giancarlo Fisichella, Italy, Benetton Renault, 1:19:55.042, did not finish.
Not classified
  • Pedro de la Rosa, Spain, Jaguar, 1:16:39.624, did not finish.
  • Tomas Enge, Czech Republic, Prost Acer, 1:15:00.290, did not finish.
  • Eddie Irvine, Britain, Jaguar, 40:34.728, did not finish.
  • Kimi Raikkonen, Finland, Sauber Petronas, 8:32.348, did not finish.
  • Jean Alesi, France, Jordan Honda, 8:32.624, did not finish.
  • Final Standings
    1. M Schumacher, Ferrari, 123
    2. D Coulthard, McLaren, 65
    3. R Barrichello, Ferrari, 56
    4. R Schumacher, Williams, 49
    5. M Hakkinen, McLaren, 37
    6. P Montoya, Williams, 31
    7. N Heidfeld, Sauber, 13
    8. J Villeneuve, BAR, 12
    9. J Trulli, Jordan, 9
    9. K Raikkonen, Sauber, 9
    11. G Fiscihella, Benetton, 8
    12. E Irvine, Jaguar, 7
    13. H Frentzen, Prost, 6
    13. J Alesi, Jordan, 6
    15. O Panis, BAR, 5
    16. P De la Rosa, Jaguar, 3
    17. J Button, Benetton, 2
    18. J Verstappen, Arrows, 1
    1. Ferrari, 179
    2. McLaren-Mercedes, 102
    3. Williams-BMW, 80
    4. Sauber-Petronas, 22
    5. Jordan-Honda, 17
    5. BAR-Honda, 17
    7. Benetton Renault, 10
    7. Jaguar Racing, 10
    9. Prost-Acer, 4
    10. Arrows-Asiatech 1

    Topics : Formula 1
    Related Articles
    Michael Schumacher's Karting Circuit Set To Close
    Michael Schumacher's Karting Circuit Set To Close
    Valtteri Bottas Holds Off Lewis Hamilton In Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
    Valtteri Bottas Holds Off Lewis Hamilton In Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
    Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Lewis Hamilton on Top in With Record Lap Time
    Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Lewis Hamilton on Top in With Record Lap Time
    Show Comments