ICC Awards: Three Indians nominated

Updated: 01 September 2007 14:57 IST

Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble and Yuvraj Singh have been nominated for the individual awards by a five-member ICC panel.

ICC Awards: Three Indians nominated


The preliminary list of nominees was announced in Mumbai on Tuesday and it features just three Indians - a reflection, perhaps, of India's mixed form in international cricket over the last 12 months.

Zaheer Khan and Anil Kumble make it to the list for Test Player of the Year while Yuvraj Singh is being considered for ODI Player of the Year.

The nominees will be short listed by September 5 and the awards will be given out in Johannesburg on the 10th.

Yuvraj Singh's performances against South Africa no doubt helped India lift the Future Cup in July, but have also earned him a nomination for the ICC's ODI Player of the Year Award.

Not bad for someone who injured himself during the Champions Trophy in India last year and nearly did not make it to the World Cup.

Even so, Yuvraj's record in the period under consideration, August 9, 2006 to August 8, 2007, is unlikely to be good enough to win him the award.

He scored just over 550 runs in 21 matches at an average of 42.76 with a top score of 95.

In the Test category, Anil Kumble earned a nomination for player of the year. Kumble, who retired from the limited overs version of the game is still very much a Test regular.

His century against England at Oval bringing to his face one of the widest grins, just misses the awards time frame.

However he did manage 28 wickets in that period in seven Test matches spread across three continents at an average of 25.57.

The third Indian to make it to the list of nominees is Zaheer Khan. The paceman was no doubt the star bowler for India as they won their first Test series in England in over two decades.

With 37 wickets in seven Tests at an average of 23.47 including two 5 wicket hauls, Zaheer's nomination was well deserved, especially since he had been relegated to the fringes for the last 2 years.

This is however what's called the long list. It will be pruned down to a short list by September 5 and there's a good chance that no Indian will be amongst the final nominees - a reflection of India's performances in the Champions Trophy, South Africa and the World Cup amongst others.

While India's nominees may not be overwhelming favourites to win, Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene and Australian Ricky Ponting will be.

For the second year in a row, the two captain's have been nominated in every category possible and not many will bet against the Australian skipper making a clean sweep of the silverware here as well.

Topics : Cricket Sreesanth
Related Articles
Most Indian Players Skip Practice, Fans Disappointed
Most Indian Players Skip Practice, Fans Disappointed
India is a Unique Place to Play Cricket: Jos Buttler
India is a Unique Place to Play Cricket: Jos Buttler
BCCI Administrators to be Named on January 20
BCCI Administrators to be Named on January 20
Show Comments