ICC Awards - The winners and their deeds

Updated: 15 September 2008 14:31 IST

The winners, the nominees and what they did to win the ICC awards.


Here's looking at the those who won the ICC Awards in Dubai on Wednesday night.

ICC Cricketer of the Year

Shivnarine Chanderpaul: He has been the shining light for the West Indies in trying times. After the departure of Brian Lara, he's produced runs consistently and has emerged as the side's best batsman. Some highlights - his hundred which helped the West Indies to their first Test win on South African soil; his twin unbeaten efforts of 107 and 77 against Australia that helped them save the Antigua Test; and finally, who could forget him hitting a four and six off the last two balls to snatch an ODI win over Sri Lanka.

Other nominees: Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Graeme Smith (South Africa), Dale Steyn (South Africa).

Test Player of The Year

Dale Steyn: Steyn-Gun is a headline that has often been used in recent times. The South African bowler with the screaming pace and sharp seam and swing has helped his team win Test matches in over Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh, India and most recently, England. A richly deserved award in a time when bowlers have often come up second best against batsmen.

Other nominees: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies), Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa).

ODI Player of The Year

Mahendra Singh Dhoni: India's ODI captain was a frontrunner for the award and he got it. Much has been said about Dhoni's sedate, new style of batting where he has eschewed big shots for ground strokes. But he used this style to become World No. 1 this year.

Other nominees: Nathan Bracken (Australia), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan).

Emerging Player of The Year

Ajantha Mendis: Even the great Muttiah Muralitharan could not create the sensation this soft-spoken tweaker from Moratuwa has created. Batsmen have struggled to pick this mysterious bowler, and his 'carrom ball' has become the talk of the cricketing world. With 26 wickets in his debut Test series, and 33 wickets in just 13 ODIs, his is a well-deserved award. Watch out for this bowler.

Other nominees: Stuart Broad (England), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Ishant Sharma (India).

Twenty20 Performance of the Year

Yuvraj Singh: The dasher stunned England into submission in the T20 World Cup last year. He hit six sixes in an over to reach an astonishing 12-ball fifty, that helped India move into the semifinals. Then, he produced a breathtaking 30-ball 70 that laid Australia low in the semifinal.

Other nominees: Chris Gayle (West Indies), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India), Brett Lee (Australia).

Umpire of the Year

Simon Taufel: The Australian has been the clear leader in his field, winning the award for the fifth straight time. The 37-year-old has the respect of his peers and Test captains for his hands-on and cool-headed approach.

Other nominees: Mark Benson (England), Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Steve Davis (Australia), Rudi Koertzen (South Africa).

Associate Player of the Year

Ryan ten Doeschate: The Dutch allrounder, who also turns out for Essex, has taken an outstanding 35 wickets and scored 662 runs at an average of 50.92 in 19 ODIs.

Other nominees: Alex Obanda (Kenya), Niall O'Brien (Ireland), Thomas Odoyo (Kenya).

Spirit of Cricket Award

Sri Lanka.

Other nominees: Bangladesh, New Zealand, West Indies.

ICC Test Team of the Year

Graeme Smith (SA, capt), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Mahela Jayawardena (SL), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wk), Brett Lee (Aus), Ryan Sidebottom (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL). 12th man: Stuart Clark (Aus).

ICC ODI Team of the Year

Hershelle Gibbs (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus, capt), Younis Khan (Pak), Andrew Symonds (Aus), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wk), Farveez Maharoof (SL), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Brett Lee (Aus), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Nathan Bracken (Aus). 12th man: Salman Butt (Pak)

Topics : Cricket
Related Articles
Lasith Malinga Gets One-Year Ban, Fined For Media Remarks
Lasith Malinga Gets One-Year Ban, Fined For Media Remarks
This Engineer Is Team India Coach Aspirant...And He Has Plans For Virat Kohli
This Engineer Is Team India Coach Aspirant...And He Has Plans For Virat Kohli
Sourav Ganguly Opens Up On Anil Kumble-Virat Kohli Rift
Sourav Ganguly Opens Up On Anil Kumble-Virat Kohli Rift
Show Comments