Clash of bottom dwellers in Hyderabad

Updated: 27 May 2008 11:04 IST

Bangalore Royal Challengers take on Hyderabad Deccan Chargers in the battle that could decide who finishes last in the Indian Premier League.


With only pride at stake, Deccan Chargers and Bangalore Royal Challengers will lock horns in a clash of the vanquished in their penultimate Indian Premier League match here on Sunday.

Already out of contention for semifinals, the two teams will fight it out to avoid the ignominy of ending up with a wooden spoon at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

Royal Challengers though have the advantage to avoid finishing last as they have garnered six points from 12 matches as against the Chargers' four.

The Rahul Dravid-led side would also have the psychological advantage after their shock 14-run defeat of Chennai Super Kings on Wednesday and would want to continue their winning streak.

Captain Rahul Dravid is the highest run-getter for the team followed by Mark Boucher, J Kallis and Virat Kohli. But, the side will require all of its batsmen to fire to win their second match on the trot.

In the bowling department, veteran spinner Anil Kumar and speedsters Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Dale Steyn make an envious line-up. But on the traditionally batsman-friendly track here, they have to repeat their miserly spells again to emerge victors.

On the other hand, the Chargers, who have even started thinking about the next edition of the tournament, would want to register their first win on home turf.

For the Chargers, captain Adam Gilchrist, Rohit Sharma and Venugopal Rao have been playing consistently well but the batsmen like Herschelle Gibbs, Shahid Afridi and Scott Styris have failed to rise up to the expectations.

Afridi has not contributed much with the bat in this tournament though have had a decent performance with the ball.

But what must have made captain Gilchrist happy was Gibbs' contribution of 44 runs in Friday's match against Kings XI Punjab though for a losing cause.

The home bowlers -- like R P Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Afridi and Chaminda Vaas -- will definitely be under tremendous pressure. But they have to keep their cool and deliver the goods in order to see their side through in the important encounter.

Teams (from):

Deccan Chargers:
Adam Gilchrist (Capt), Sanjay Bangar, Haldhar Das (wk), H Gibbs, Scott Styris, D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, D Ravi Teja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Y Venugopal Rao, P Vijay Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Bangalore Royal Challengers: Rahul Dravid (Capt), B Akhil, Dale Steyn, Abdur Razzak, Bharat Chipli, Anil Kumble, Cameron White, Dale Steyn, J Arunkumar, Misbah-ul-Haq, Sunil Joshi, Wasim Jaffer, Devaraj Patil, KP Appanna, Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Praveen Kumar, Shreevats Goswami, Virat Kohli and Ashley Noffke.

Topics : Cricket Deccan Chargers
Related Articles
IPL 2018 Player Auction: Stars Retained, Virat Kohli (RCB)
IPL 2018 Player Auction: Stars Retained, Virat Kohli (RCB)
Live Score: India (Ind) vs (SA) South Africa
Live Score: India (Ind) vs (SA) South Africa
India vs South Africa, Live Cricket Score, 3rd Test, Day 1: Visitors Elect To Bat First As Rahane Included In Playing XI
India vs South Africa, Live Cricket Score, 3rd Test, Day 1: Visitors Elect To Bat First As Rahane Included In Playing XI
Show Comments