David Warner dropped for England ODIs, Mitchell Starc too returns to Australia

While David Warner has been dropped for dip in form in the one-day format, Mitchell Starc and Steve Smith have been forced out due to injuries. Fawad Ahmed meanwhile is living his dream in England.

Updated: September 01, 2013 15:03 IST
  • Total Shares

David Warner has surprisingly been left out of Australia's one-day squad for the ongoing England tour, while due to a lower back pain Mitchell Starc too has been sent back home, a Cricket Australia media release said on Sunday.

It was announced beforehand that the squad for the ODIs will be trimmed to 15 from 18. Injuries to Steve Smith and Starc have made the selectors' job easier.

Commenting on Warner's omission from the Australian ODI squad, Selector and Coach Darren Lehmann said: "David has been left out of the Australian ODI squad for this tour purely due to his recent lack of form in this format. By his own admission, David would acknowledge that unfortunately he hasn't scored the weight of runs that he would like recently in one-day cricket for his country. Like all selection matters, it was a tough decision, but like all players he understands the situation and knows he needs to get back to playing RYOBI Cup and making a heap of runs that we can't ignore. I spoke with David at length about what he needs to do and I've been impressed with his attitude since I've come into the Australian setup."

Warner, who scored a half-century in the second T20 against England, has just got three fifties in his last 18 ODI matches for Aussies. His last century came in March 2012 against Sri Lanka. In his short career till now, Warner has 1133 runs in 39 ODIs at 29.81, which is mediocre considering his potential.

Commenting on Starc, Australian cricket team doctor Peter Brukner said: "Mitch reported some lower back pain in recent days so we have decided it's best for him to return to Australia for further assessment and investigation."

The Australian ODI squad plays Scotland in Edinburgh on Tuesday, before commencing a five-game ODI Series against England with the first match of that series starting on Friday at Headingley.

The final Australian squad of 15
: Michael Clarke (Captain), George Bailey (Vice-Captain), Fawad Ahmed, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment