Miami Masters: Somdev Devvarman fights his way through to second round

Devvarman, ranked 254, lost the first set to Donskoy, who is ranked 78, by 4-6. The Indian then fought his way back in the second set to take it in a thrilling tie-breaker. With Donskoy rattled, Somdev took control in the deciding set and cruised past 6-2 to seal the match.

Updated: March 21, 2013 10:38 IST
  • Total Shares

Miami: Continuing his impressive comeback post a shoulder surgery, Somdev Devvarman erased a one-set deficit to beat world number 78 Evgeny Donskoy in his opening round of the ATP Miami Masters.

The 254th ranked Indian recorded a 4-7 7-6 (5) 6-2 win over his first-round Russian rival.

A stern test though awaits Somdev as he next faces world number 34 Spaniard Feliciano Lopez, who got a bye in his opening round.

Somdev has beaten a few top-100 players after making a comeback this season. Victories against world number 39 Benoit Paire and 78th ranked Bjorn Phau were memorable ones.

In the match against Donskoy, Somdev saved six break chances in the opening set but failed on one occasion and that let the Russian run away with lead and momentum.

In the second set, the two players traded breaks and Somdev prevailed in the tie-breaker.

In the deciding third set, Somdev saved all three breakpoints and converted two of the five chances to move to next level.

Meanwhile, in the doubles event, seventh seeds Leander Paes and Michael Llodra will open their campaign against Kas Christopher and Philipp Kohlschreiber.

Third seeded pair of Mahesh Bhupathi and Daniel Nestor have been drawn against Richard Gasquet and Edouard Roger-Vasselin.

Rohan Bopanna and Rajeev Ram face Eric Butorac and Paul Hanley in their opening round.

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Tennis
  • Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • Leander Paes
  • Mahesh Bhupathi
  • Radek Stepanek
  • Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi
  • Guillermo Garcia-Lopez
  • Janko Tipsarevic
  • Victoria Azarenka
  • Su-Wei Hsieh
  • Milos Raonic
  • Kei Nishikori
  • Evgeny Donskoy
  • Sania Mirza
  • Kim Clijsters
  • Novak Djokovic
  • Rajeev Ram
  • Andy Murray
  • Somdev Devvarman
  • Rohan Bopanna

Leave a comment