No Virat Kohli among nominees for ICC ODI Player of the Year award

Shikhar Dhawan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni among six shortlisted for ICC ODI Player of the Year award; Ashwin and Pujara among nominees for Test Player of the Year award

Updated: December 03, 2013 13:24 IST
  • Total Shares

Virat Kohli, the world's No. 1 ODI batsman, is not among the nominees for the ICC ODI Player of the Year award. In the shortlist announced in Mumbai on Tuesday, Kohli is a surprise omission even as Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja and Mahendra Singh Dhoni are among the six nominated. Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara complete the list. (Related: Kohli can emulate Sachin: Donald)

Apart from Dhoni, two more Indians, Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara have been shortlisted for the ICC Test Player of the Year. South African star batsman Hashim Amla, the world's No. 1 pacer Dale Steyn and Australian skipper Michael Clarke are the other nominees for the Test Player of the Year award. (Team India, Dhoni in line to break records)

While Indian men figure prominently in most awards, the women have drawn a blank. Pujara also figures in the shortlist for the ICC Emerging Player of the Year. England's young batting all-rounder Joe Root also figures in the shortlist alongside Aussie tearaway Mitchell Starc and New Zealand pacer Trent Boult.

Dhoni, who won the People's Choice Award for 2013, figures in both the ICC ODI and Test teams of the year. Kohli is strangely absent from both teams. Apart from Dhoni, Dhawan and Jadeja figure in the ODI squad while Pujara finds a berth in the Test team of the year. Ashwin has been named the 12th man in the Test team. Dale Steyn finds a place in the Test team for the sixth year in a row. (India like a runaway train: Steyn)

A few players who have made the cut in both the Test and ODI teams are South African batsmen AB De Villiers, Hashim Amla and English fast bowler James Anderson.

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Dilshan, Dhawan, Amla, Sangakkara, AB De Villiers, Dhoni, Jadeja, Saeed Ajmal, Mitchell Starc, James Anderson, Malinga, Mitchell McClenghan

ICC Test Team of the Year: Cook, Pujara, Amla, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, De Villiers, Dhoni, Swann, Steyn, Anderson, Philander, Ashwin (12th man).

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment