IPL 6: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils, Statistical Highlights

Man of the Match Sunil Narine's four-wicket haul gave Kolkata victory in the opening match of the sixth edition of the Indian Premier League.

Updated: April 04, 2013 09:06 IST
  • Total Shares


# Kolkata have won three successive games against Delhi in the IPL for the first time - by 6 wickets on May 7, 2012; by 18 runs on May 22, 2012 and by six wickets on April 3, 2013.

# Kolkata have won six and lost four out of ten contested against Delhi in the IPL.

# Unmukt Chand became the second Delhi player after Gautam Gambhir (against Chennai at Kingsmead, Durban on April 23, 2009) to be dismissed off the first ball of an IPL match.

# Overall, there are 13 instances of a player being dismissed off the first ball of an IPL match.

# For the second time in IPL history, the inaugural game has witnessed a first-ball dismissal. In the 2010 edition, Manoj Tiwary (Kolkata) had provided the first instance - the bowler being Chaminda Vaas (Deccan) at Dr.D.Y.Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai on March 12.

# Unmukt has recorded his second duck in five matches for Delhi Daredevils at the IPL - his aggregate being 38 at an average of 7.60.

# Unmukt is averaging just 20.13 in Twenty20 - his aggregate being 443 in 23 matches, including six ducks.

# Mahela Jayawardene has completed his 1500 runs in the IPL - 1537 at an average of 31.36 in 66 matches, including a hundred and nine fifties.

# Jayawardene's 66 off 52 balls is his highest score for Delhi Daredevils in the IPL, beating the 56 not out against Kings XI at Delhi on May 15, 2012.

# Jayawardene's aforesaid innings is his fourth fifty for Delhi Daredevils at the IPL.

# Sunil Narine enjoys superb bowling record in the IPL - his tally being 28 wickets at an average of 12.03 in 16 matches - all for Kolkata Knight Riders. His strike rate of 13.5 is also quite impressive.

# Narine has established a record for the highest wicket-aggregate for Kolkata in the IPL, surpassing the 25 (ave.34.48) in 31 matches by Ishant Sharma.

# Narine has captured four wickets in an IPL game three times. His figures of 4 for 13 are the third best for Kolkata at the IPL - the top two being five for 19 by Sunil Narine against Kings XI at Kolkata on April 15, 2012 and 4 for 11 by Shoaib Akhtar against Delhi at Kolkata on May 13, 2008.

# Narine has received his fourth Man of the Match award in the IPL.

# Gautam Gambhir (1010 at an average of 36.07 in 33 matches) has become the second batsman after Sourav Ganguly (1031 at an average of 28.63 in 40 games) to complete 1000 runs for Kolkata in the IPL.

# Gambhir's overall tally of 2107 (ave.33.44) in 73 matches is the second highest at the IPL, next only to Suresh Raina's 2254 (ave.33.64) in 81 matches.

# Yusuf Pathan has completed his 1500 runs at the IPL - 1506 at an average of 25.96 in 76 matches.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment