ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Melbourne Cricket Ground to host final

India is the defending champion of the one-day international tournament after winning the 2011 title when it was hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The event is held every four years.

Updated: August 18, 2014 15:16 IST
  • Total Shares

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Melbourne Cricket Ground to host finalEngland and Australia are drawn in the same group and the 2015 Cricket World Cup final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, with the semifinals set for Sydney and Auckland, New Zealand.

Tournament organizers announced Tuesday that New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and two qualifiers will join Australia and England in Pool A of the 14-team tournament that is held every four years.

South Africa, defending champions India, Pakistan, the West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and a qualifier will compete in Pool B.

Australia and New Zealand will host 49 matches over 44 days during February and March 2015.

Other Australian venues for the tournament will be the Sydney Cricket Ground, Brisbane's Gabba, the WACA in Perth, Adelaide Oval, Manuka Oval in Canberra and Bellerive Oval in Tasmania.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment