Abu Dhabi GP: Raikkon wins, Alonso and Vettel follow

The Lotus F1 driver became the eight winner this season. Fernando Alonso finished behind him and in front of a rampaging Vettel who was demoted to the last place on the grid.

Updated: November 04, 2012 21:59 IST
  • Total Shares

Abu Dhabi: Kimi Raikkonen won a thrilling Abu Dhabi Grand Prix for Lotus here on Sunday with Fernando Alonso of Ferrari taking second and Sebastian Vettel a remarkable third after setting off from the back of the grid.


Red Bull ace Vettel, seeking to become the youngest ever triple champion, now leads the drivers standings by 10 points from Alonso with only two races remaining.

Raikkonen's win was his first since the 2009 Belgian GP while the Lotus name was making its first appearance on the top of the podium since the late Ayrton Senna's victory in the 1987 United States GP.

The Finn, champion in 2007 who came out of retirement this season, moves up to 198 points.

Pole sitter Lewis Hamilton was out in front and in control until his McLaren lost all power and came to a halt on lap 20.

A dramatic third last leg of the 2013 F1 championship was marred early on by a massive crash involving Nico Rosberg's Mercedes and Narain Karthikeyan's Hispania.

Rosberg's car smashed into the rear end of Karthikeyan's slower car and took off -- flying over the Hispania before landing and hitting the barriers in the ninth lap of the 55 laps race.

Both drivers were unhurt in the accident at around 310 kph as the race was temporarily suspended for the introduction of a safety car at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Karthikeyan, 35, appeared to lift off and slow down and was not seen by Rosberg, 27, who could not avoid hitting him.

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment