Indian National Football to Get New Coach

All India Football Association has decided not to renew Wim Koevarmans' contract and will appoint another foreign coach once his contract ends in October.

Updated: August 28, 2014 19:22 IST
  • Total Shares
A file pic of Indian coach Wim Koevermans

Mumbai: The Indian team will soon have a new chief coach as the All India Football Federation (AIFF) on Thursday decided to not renew incumbent Wim Koevarmans' contract but retain him as the technical director. (Sachin Tendulkar launches Indian Super League football)

The AIFF executive committee that met here Thursday decided not to renew Koevarmans' contract after October and also appoint a new coach for the Under-17 side which will participate in the 2017 U-17 World Cup at home. (Indian team faces possible funding crunch)

Dutchman Koevarmans, under whom the team didn't perform well, will replace compatriot Rob Bann.

"We have decided to retain Koevarmans as the technical director. We will soon have a new national coach and also an U-17 coach," a top AIFF official told IANS after the meeting.

Both the coaches will be foreigners.

The committee also discussed the uncertainties over fielding U-23 men and the women's team at the Incheon Asian Games as the government is not willing to bear the expenses.

"We have discussed the modalities. Things look tough but we can field the team at no expense to the government. We have to shell out around Rs.1.15 crore to field the two teams," the official added on the condition of anonymity.

Meanwhile, the committee also welcomed Kalyani Group as the new member in the forthcoming edition in the I-League.

“I believe they will bring in more professionalism in the league. Let’s not forget the manner in which Bengaluru FC came as a breath of fresh air in the I-League last season," said AIFF president Praful Patel.

Bengaluru FC went on to win the I-League in their inaugural season.

It was also decided that the Federation Cup will be held in Goa from Dec 28 to Jan 10 and Women’s National Championship will be hosted by Odisha. The final round of the Santosh Trophy will be held in Uttarakhand.

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment