Nabi voted AIFF Player of the Year

Syed Rahim Nabi has been voted the All India Football Federation (AIFF) Player of the Year.

Updated: December 20, 2012 19:30 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Syed Rahim Nabi has been voted the All India Football Federation (AIFF) Player of the Year.

The announcement was made by AIFF president Praful Patel during the Annual General Meeting conduced at Football House, the AIFF headquarters, here Thursday.

Nabi was chosen the winner after being voted by I-League Club coaches. The voting procedure ended Dec 14.

AIFF general secretary Kushal Das lauded Nabi on his achievements. "Nabi is a versatile player. His commitment as a player is exemplary. He is a deserving recipient of the award."

National coach Wim Koevermans said: "I congratulate Rahim Nabi on being chosen the winner by the various I-League club coaches. I wish him all the best for the future and wish him a speedy recovery."

Nabi suffered a head injury after being hit by a stone hurled from a gallery packed with Mohun Bagan supporters during the club'a match against East Bengal.

The 27-year-old joins a list of illustrious players who have won the award since 1992.

The list of earlier recipients:

1992: I.M.Vijayan
1993: V.P.Sathyan
1994: Jo Paul Ancheri
1995: Baichung Bhutia
1996: Bruno Coutinho
1997: I.M.Vijayan
2000: I.M.Vijayan
2001: Jo Paul Ancheri
2002: Deepak Mondal
2003: Tomba Singh
2004: S. Venkatesh
2005: Climax Lawrence
2006: Surkumar Singh
2007: Sunil Chhetri
2008: Baichung Bhutia
2009: Subrata Paul
2010: Gouramangi Singh
2011: Sunil Chhetri

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Football

Leave a comment