Galle:Many people believe Rahul Dravid was wrongly given out in Galle because the catch was taken after the ball deflected off the fielder's helmet.
According to cricket laws, a catch taken off the helmet of a fielder is not legitimate. Virender Sehwag believes if the Lankans saw that it was off the helmet then they shouldn't have appealed for the catch, because that is against the spirit of the game.
However there could be some confusion about whether that should be the case if the ball hits the helmet first or second. In this case it was second since it came off the fielder's shoulder first.
Some replays seemed to suggest that the ball had come off Dravid's helmet and should therefore not have been adjudged out. When Sehwag was asked about this he said, "I couldn't tell from the non-striker's end whether it was off the helmet. But if the Lankans knew it was off the helmet then they shouldn't have appealed. That's not in the spirit of the game".
Law 32 Section E of cricket says, "A catch shall be considered to have been fairly made if a fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman. However, it is not a fair catch if the ball has touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder, although the ball remains in play."